April 5, 2002

NORMAN, Okla. - The Oklahoma women's golf team will host the annual Susie Maxwell Berning Classic Invitational April 8-9 at the Jimmie Austin OU Golf Course in Norman. The tournament field will consist of Arkansas, Arkansas-Little Rock, Baylor, Kansas State, Lamar, Nebraska, North Texas, Oklahoma, Oral Roberts, Sam Houston State, SMU, Texas A&M, Texas Tech, UTEP and Wichita State.

The Sooner team, who is the defending tournament champion, will consist of Lisa Meldrum, Allison Johnson, Wendy Martin, Jennifer Tannehill and either Hope Edge or Emily Milberger. Also competing for Oklahoma as individuals are Jennifer James, Betsy Berry, Marsha Gonzaga, Jaime White and Jenni Nimmo.

The 54-hole tournament is formatted with 36 holes on Monday and 18 holes on Tuesday. Monday's action will begin at 8:00 a.m. with a shotgun start and Tuesday's play will begin at 7:44 a.m. off tees one and 10.

The Jimmie Austin OU Golf Course is an 18-hole, 6,013-yard, par-72 course with a course rating of 69.1. The course was originally designed in 1950 by Perry Maxwell, who has more than 70 original designs to his credit. Robert E. Cupp, the 1992 GolfWorld Designer of the Year, redesigned the course in 1996.