Women's Golf Team Headed To NCAA Championships

Athletics Communications
By Athletics Communications
University of Oklahoma
MAY 16, 2002

May 16, 2002

NORMAN, OKla. - The University of Oklahoma women's golf team will compete in the 2002 NCAA National Championships May 21-24 at the Washington National Golf Club in Auburn, Wash. The Sooners return to the 54-hole tournament after a year absence. Head-to-head competition will feature 24 teams at the 72-par, 6,273-yard course. The Oklahoma team will consist of seniors Wendy Martin and Jennifer Tannehill, junior Allison Johnson, and sophomores Hope Edge and Lisa Meldrum.

The four-round tournament will be hosted by the University of Washington and will consist of No. 7 Arizona, No. 9 Arizona State, No. 1 Auburn, No. 16 California, No. 2 Duke, No. 11 Florida, No. 10 Georgia, No. 23 Michigan, No. 14 Michigan State, No. 4 Ohio State, No. 19 Oklahoma, No. 6 Oklahoma State, No. 13 Pepperdine, No. 21 Purdue, No. 22 South Carolina, No. 40 South Florida, No. 15 Southern California, No. 24 Stanford, No. 5 Texas, No. 3 Tulsa, No. 17 UCLA, No. 12 Vanderbilt, No. 20 Wake Forest and No. 18 Washington.

Martin will be competing in her second NCAA tournament as will Tannehill who had her best conference finish this season after garnering 10th place. Johnson, who is ranked 40th as an individual, placed in the top 20 of every tournament this year and was selected to attend the World University Golf Championships. Edge will compete in her first NCCA tournament after a season that marked four top 20 finishes and career low rounds and a career best finish. Meldrum, who is ranked 19th in the country and holds the team low scoring average, was named first-team All-Big 12.



Sooner Sports Properties, LLC, is the multimedia rights holder for athletics at the University of Oklahoma.
Sooner Sports Properties is a joint venture of Learfield Communications and Tyler Media, LLC.


Sooner Sports Powered by FOX Sports is a multi-platform network that provides distribution of 1,000+ hours of Sooner sports programming annually on a variety of FOX Sports outlets, including FOX Sports Oklahoma, FOX Sports Southwest, and FOX College Sports.