Bryant Wins Discus Title at Texas Relays

Athletics Communications
By Athletics Communications
University of Oklahoma
MARCH 31, 2012

March 31, 2012


AUSTIN, Texas – University of Oklahoma senior Luke Bryant made it a sweep for the Sooners on Saturday as he won section A of the men’s discus throw at the Texas Relays. Bryant joins teammate Brittany Borman as a Texas Relays champion after she won section A of the women’s discus throw on Friday afternoon. Bryant’s win one was of seven top-five finishes for the Sooners on the final day of the meet.

Bryant came from behind, throwing 197 feet, nine inches on his fourth attempt to best Jason Morgan and Texas’ Ryan Crouser to win the event. Morgan was second, throwing 197-4 on his first attempt. Crouser’s best throw of 195-6 was also on his first attempt.

Bryant was in fourth after the first rotation and moved into third on his second attempt and was in third heading into his fourth attempt.

Texas Relays: Day Four Results | Live Blog

Eric Cray ran a collegiate-best 51.15 seconds to finish third in the men’s 400-meter hurdles university final. Cray held an early advantage through the first 200 meters and closed strong to record the 10th fastest time in program history.

Molly Ferguson, Shakeeri Cole, Natalie Crain and Kelsey Brown ran 11:28.00 to take third in the women’s distance medley relay. Crain pushed OU into third by the final exchange and Brown fell back behind Baylor into fourth but regained the lead with 300 meters remaining to secure the top-three finish.

The comeback performance of the afternoon came from the men’s 4x200-meter relay team of Ethan Baker, Jamel Wood, Evan Pierson and Marcus Anderson. OU finished fifth overall in the event, running 1:24.73 but the Sooners were behind at the final exchange and Anderson closed the gap to finish just behind Pittsburgh in the first heat.

Bailey Wagner set a new collegiate-best with a throw of 51-5.50 to finish fifth in the A section of the women’s shot put. Ti’Anca Mock was fifth in section A of the women’s long jump with a best leap of 21-6 on her final try.

The team of Baker, Cray, Wood and Anderson finished fifth in the Cleburne Price, Jr. men’s 4x400-meter invitational with a season’s best time of 3:07.80.

Anderson and Baker ran the first two legs of the Clyde Littlefield men’s 4x100-meter relay as Evan Pierson and Cray ran the third and fourth. The team finished ninth in 40.45 seconds.

Alex Madkins was ninth in the section A of the men’s long jump with a jump of 24-4.50 on his second attempt.

Malcolm Wankel ran a collegiate best in the 800-meter run at the Arkansas Spring Festival, finishing fourth overall in 1:52.14.

85th annual Clyde Littlefield Texas Relays Day Four Results
Mike A. Meyers Stadium – Austin, Texas – March 31, 2012
Clyde Littlefield Men’s 4x100m Relay (final): 9. Anderson, Baker, Pierson, Cray, 40.45; Men’s 4x200m Relay (final): 5. Baker, Wood, Pierson, Anderson, 1:24.73; Cleburne Price, Jr. Men's 4x400m Relay: 5. Baker, Cray, Wood, Anderson, 3:07.80; Women’s Distance Medley Relay (final): 3. Ferguson, Cole, Crain, Brown, 11:28.00; Men’s 400m Hurdles (final): 3. Eric Cray, 51.15; Women’s Long Jump (section A): 5. Ti’Anca Mock, 21-6; Men’s Long Jump (section A): 9. Alex Madkins, 24-4.50; Women’s Shot Put (section A): 5. Bailey Wagner, 51-5.50; Men’s Discus (section A): 1. Luke Bryant, 197-9

Arkansas Spring Invitational
John McDonnell Stadium – Fayetteville, Ark. – March 31, 2012
Men’s 800m Run (final): 4. Malcolm Wankel, 1:52.14



Sooner Sports Properties, LLC, is the multimedia rights holder for athletics at the University of Oklahoma.
Sooner Sports Properties is a joint venture of Learfield Communications and Tyler Media, LLC.


Sooner Sports Powered by FOX Sports is a multi-platform network that provides distribution of 1,000+ hours of Sooner sports programming annually on a variety of FOX Sports outlets, including FOX Sports Oklahoma, FOX Sports Southwest, and FOX College Sports.