OU to Host Susie Maxwell Tourney

Athletics Communications
By Athletics Communications
University of Oklahoma
APRIL 05, 2007

NORMAN, Okla. -- The University of Oklahoma women’s golf team will stay in Norman this weekend to host the 29th Susie Maxwell Berning Classic. The tournament, which closes the Sooners’ regular season, will be held April 8-9 on the par-72, 6,013-yard Jimmie Austin OU Golf Course.

Leading the Oklahoma charge will be sophomore Kendall Dye. The Edmond, Okla., native is coming off the top Sooner finish since 2004. Dye, who competed unattached from team scoring, earned runner-up honors at the Mountainview Collegiate after carding a career best 5-under-par 211 (March 24-25).

Also competing for the Sooners this weekend are junior Kelly Jacques, freshman Andrea Sellmeyer, junior Heather Wright and freshman Chelsey Collins.

Tournament Notes |  Roster | Quick Facts |  Program

“The lineup is getting more and more solid,” OU head coach Carol Ludvigson said. “We are so excited to have two freshmen in the lineup this week. It will be a good test for them and a challenge to handle the pressure that comes along with playing at home.

“They really have great chemistry and play hard for one another,” Ludvigson said of her golfers. “The key will be to not try too hard and get in their own way. It will be an exciting tournament and we look forward to hosting it.”

OU will compete among a difficult field comprised of 18 teams.  Arkansas, Arkansas-Little Rock, Baylor, Cameron, Kansas, Kansas State, New Mexico State, North Texas, Oklahoma City, Oral Roberts, Redlands Community College, SMU, Texas Tech, Tulsa, UTEP, Wichita State and Wisconsin will also appear in this weekend’s tournament.

“We welcome some new teams in the event and also some very strong teams with Arkansas and New Mexico State participating,” Ludvigson said. “The field will be very competitive and will provide experience for many teams who need head-to-head competition in the final stages of regional standings.”

Oklahoma is hoping for home course advantage heading into the event. The last time OU raised the team title trophy was in 2004, shooting a three-round 900. Sooner Lisa Meldrum also earned medalist honors that year.

First-round action of the 54-hole tournament will begin Sunday at 8 a.m.  The second round will be played Sunday afternoon and the final round will begin Monday at 8 a.m.



Sooner Sports Properties, LLC, is the multimedia rights holder for athletics at the University of Oklahoma.
Sooner Sports Properties is a joint venture of Learfield Communications and Tyler Media, LLC.


Sooner Sports Powered by FOX Sports is a multi-platform network that provides distribution of 1,000+ hours of Sooner sports programming annually on a variety of FOX Sports outlets, including FOX Sports Oklahoma, FOX Sports Southwest, and FOX College Sports.