Sooners Invade Austin for Longhorn Invitational

Athletics Communications
By Athletics Communications
University of Oklahoma
MARCH 25, 2010

March 25, 2010

NORMAN, Okla. – The University of Oklahoma women’s golf team is set to compete at the 16-team Betsy Rawls Longhorn Invitational, March 26-28 (Friday through Sunday), hosted by the University of Texas.  Fifty-four holes will be played at the 6,255-yard, par-72 University of Texas Golf Club.

This will be the Sooners’ ninth consecutive year to participate in the Betsy Rawls Longhorn Invitational and first under head coach Veronique Drouin.  After taking second place at last week’s Claud Jacobs Intercollegiate in Victoria, Texas, Drouin said her golfers are prepared to get back to action.

“We are excited to get back to tournament play,” Drouin said.  “We are approaching the end of our season and are looking forward to competing in Austin this weekend.  The girls worked hard over spring break.”

Leading OU’s lineup is junior Ellen Mueller (Evansville, Ind.)  At last year’s Longhorn Invitational, Mueller fired a career-low 70 in the second round and wound up tying for 14th place.  Mueller has tallied three of her six career top-five finishes this season and has placed in the top 20 at all eight 2009-2010 tournaments.

Andrea Sellmeyer (McAlester, Okla.) fills the second spot in the OU lineup.  Sellmeyer heads to Austin hot off a career-best 10th-place finish at last week’s Claud Jacobs Intercollegiate where the senior totaled a three-round 230 (+14).

Sophomore Brooke Collins (Louisville, Colo.), who inked a career-low 72 during the final round in Texas last week, will compete in the third spot this weekend.  Senior Chelsey Collins (Louisville, Colo.) and freshman Taylor Schmidt (Kincardine, Ontario) will round out OU's five.

Each of the other 15 teams in the field are ranked in Golfweek's top 50.  The other participants are UCLA (ranked No. 2), Arizona (No. 8), Stanford (No.  12), Texas A&M (No.  20), New Mexico (No.  22), Vanderbilt (No. 23), TCU (No. 25), UC Davis (No. 26), Washington (No. 33), Texas (No. 34), Oregon (No. 37), Northwestern (No. 39), Notre Dame (No.  40), Tulsa (No. 41) and Chattanooga (No. 45).

A single round will be played each day of the tournament beginning at 8:15 a.m. CT on Friday and Saturday, and 8:45 a.m. on Sunday.  Live scoring will be available at



Sooner Sports Properties, LLC, is the multimedia rights holder for athletics at the University of Oklahoma.
Sooner Sports Properties is a joint venture of Learfield Communications and Tyler Media, LLC.


Sooner Sports Powered by FOX Sports is a multi-platform network that provides distribution of 1,000+ hours of Sooner sports programming annually on a variety of FOX Sports outlets, including FOX Sports Oklahoma, FOX Sports Southwest, and FOX College Sports.