Anthony Kim Named to Ben Hogan Award Watch List

Athletics Communications
By Athletics Communications
University of Oklahoma
MARCH 02, 2006

NORMAN, Okla. University of Oklahoma junior Anthony Kim has been named to the watch list for the 2006 Ben Hogan Award.  Given annually by Bank of America, in cooperation with Colonial Country Club, The Friends of Golf and the Golf Coaches Association of America, the Hogan Award recognizes the top amateur player in college golf.

Considered the most prestigious award in men’s college golf, The Hogan is given to the top men’s NCAA Division I, II or III, NAIA or junior college golfer taking into account all collegiate and amateur competitions during the last 12 months.

Kim, a two-time All-American and reigning Big 12 Player of the Year, is fresh off his first tournament victory of the year at the Ashworth Invitational, and the fourth of his career.  His last tournament victory came at the 2005 Big 12 Championship, where he fired three straight under-par rounds to capture the title by six strokes.

This past summer, in a field of 156 of the nation's best amateur golfers, Kim earned medalist honors at the U.S. Amateur Public Links Championship by winning the stroke-play portion of the tournament.  He also advanced to the match-play semifinals of the APL before losing in a 20-hole contest. 

In August, Kim advanced to the quarterfinals of the U.S. Amateur at Merion Golf Club in Ardmore, Pa.  He was also a member of the Walker Cup-winning U.S. team that defeated Great Britain and Ireland for the first time since 1997, going 2-1-1 in matches and scoring 2.5 points towards the team total.

In addition to Kim, the Hogan watch list features returning PING First-Team All-America selections Ryan Blaum of Duke, Arizona State’s Alejandro Caizares, Roberto Castro of Georgia Tech, East Tennessee State’s Rhys Davies, Matt Every of Florida, James Lepp of Washington and Oklahoma State’s Pablo Martin.

Others on the 27 player watch list include Scott Brown and Dane Burkhart, defending NCAA Division II national champion, of South Carolina-Aiken, Jay Choi of New Mexico, U.S. Amateur runner-up Dillon Dougherty of Northwestern, Texas Tech’s Oscar Floren, Erik Flores of UCLA, UNLV’s Andres Gonzales, Jake Grodzinsky of Duke, Stanford’s Rob Grube, Brian Harman, the nation’s top-ranked amateur, and Chris Kirk of Georgia, Coastal Carolina’s Dustin Johnson, Kevin Larsen of Georgia Tech, Vanderbilt’s Luke List, U.S. Public Links champion Clay Ogden of BYU, Kyle Reifers and Webb Simpson of Wake Forest and North Carolina’s Martin Ureta.

The Hogan Award selection committee will announce 10 semi-finalists on March 29 and name three finalists on May 2. The three finalists will attend The Hogan Award banquet on Saturday, May 13 at Colonial Country Club, the Saturday prior to the Bank of America Colonial, with the recipient announced that evening.

2006 The Ben Hogan Award Watch List
(in alphabetical order)

Ryan Blaum, Duke
Scott Brown, South Carolina-Aiken
Dane Burkhart, South Carolina-Aiken
Alejandro Caizares, Arizona State
Roberto Castro, Georgia Tech
Jay Choi, New Mexico
Rhys Davies, East Tennessee State
Dillon Dougherty, Northwestern
Matt Every, Florida
Oscar Floren, Texas Tech
Erik Flores, UCLA
Andres Gonzales, UNLV
Jake Grodzinsky, Duke
Rob Grube, Stanford
Brian Harman, Georgia
Dustin Johnson, Coastal Carolina
Anthony Kim, Oklahoma
Chris Kirk, Georgia
Kevin Larsen Georgia Tech
James Lepp, Washington
Luke List, Vanderbilt
Pablo Martin, Oklahoma State
Clay Ogden, Brigham Young
Kyle Reifers, Wake Forest
Webb Simpson, Wake Forest
Martin Ureta, North Carolina



Sooner Sports Properties, LLC, is the multimedia rights holder for athletics at the University of Oklahoma.
Sooner Sports Properties is a joint venture of Learfield Communications and Tyler Media, LLC.


Sooner Sports Powered by FOX Sports is a multi-platform network that provides distribution of 1,000+ hours of Sooner sports programming annually on a variety of FOX Sports outlets, including FOX Sports Oklahoma, FOX Sports Southwest, and FOX College Sports.