Three Sooners Named to Big 12 Anniversary Team

Athletics Communications
By Athletics Communications
University of Oklahoma
FEBRUARY 27, 2006

NORMAN, Okla. -- Three Oklahoma Sooners were named to the Big 12 Wrestling 10th Anniversary Team announced Monday. The team was selected by the league’s coaches.

Former Sooners John Kading and Michael Lightner plus current wrestler Teyon Ware were named to the 12-man team.

Kading was honored for his performance during the 1997 post-season. Lightner was honored for his finishes during the 1998-01 post-season. Ware was honored for his showing during the 2003 and 2005 postseason.

In order to be eligible for consideration, candidates must have been a top finisher at the Big 12s or NCAA Championship.

Kading, a four-Time All-American at OU from 1994-97, won the 1996 190-pound NCAA National Title. He also won the 1996 and 1997, 190-pound Big 12 Championship.

Lightner, a four-time All-American at Oklahoma from 1998-01, took home the 2001 141-pound NCAA title. He was also a four-time Big 12 champion.

Current Sooner Teyon Ware is a three-time All-American (2003-05) and has won the 141-pound NCAA title twice (2003 and 2005). He is also a Big 12 Champion at 141 pounds, which he won in 2003.

Oklahoma will travel to Ames, Iowa, for the Big 12 Championships on Saturday, March 4.



Sooner Sports Properties, LLC, is the multimedia rights holder for athletics at the University of Oklahoma.
Sooner Sports Properties is a joint venture of Learfield Communications and Tyler Media, LLC.


Sooner Sports Powered by FOX Sports is a multi-platform network that provides distribution of 1,000+ hours of Sooner sports programming annually on a variety of FOX Sports outlets, including FOX Sports Oklahoma, FOX Sports Southwest, and FOX College Sports.