Sooner Wrestlers to Compete in All-Star Classic

Athletics Communications
By Athletics Communications
University of Oklahoma
NOVEMBER 03, 2005

NORMAN, Okla. -- Three Oklahoma Sooners will be competing in the 40th annual NWCA All-Star Classic presented by the United States Marine Corps inside Oklahoma State’s Gallagher-Iba Arena in Stillwater, Okla., on Monday, Nov. 21, at 7 p.m.

The three Sooners competing will be returning All-Americans Teyon Ware, Sam Hazewinkel and Joel Flaggert. Ware and Hazewinkel will be making their second appearance in the event, while Flaggert is making his first.

Hazewinkel will be competing against Michigan State’s Nick Simmons in the 125-pound match. Hazewinkel defeated Simmons, 2-0, in the consolation match at the 2005 NCAA Championships. Hazewinkel also beat Simmons, 2-0, in last season’s All-Star classic.

Ware will be wrestling Nate Gallick of Iowa State in the 141-pound match. Ware defeated Gallick, 3-2, at last year’s NCAA Championships to claim his second 141-pound title.

Flaggert will be looking to upset two-time national champion Jake Rosholt of Oklahoma State in the 197-pound match. Flaggert is coming off  All-America honors a year ago at the NCAA Championships.

“It’s pretty exciting, and it’s a once in a lifetime opportunity to go out and wrestle in an All-Star meet,” said Flaggert.

The Sooners open the regular season Nov. 12, in Brockport, N.Y., for the Brockport/Oklahoma Gold Classic. Oklahoma opens the home portion of the schedule against the Lehigh Mountain Hawks on Saturday, Dec. 3, at 7 p.m. Action takes place inside the Howard McCasland Field House.

2005 NWCA All-Star Classic presented by the United States Marine Corps
125: Sam Hazewinkel (Oklahoma) vs. Nick Simmons (Michigan State)
133: Tom Clum (Wisconsin) vs. Mack Reiter (Minnesota)
141: Teyon Ware (Oklahoma) vs. Nate Gallick (Iowa State)
149: Zack Esposito (Oklahoma State) vs. Jon Masa (Hofstra)
157: Joe Johnston (Iowa) vs. Alex Tirapelle (Illinois)
165: Johny Hendricks (Oklahoma State) vs. Ryan Churella (Michigan)
174: Mark Perry (Iowa) vs. Jake Herbert (Northwestern)
184: Paul Bradley (Iowa) vs. Pete Friedl (Illinois)
197: Jake Rosholt (Oklahoma State) vs. Joel Flaggert (Oklahoma)
285: Steve Mocco (Oklahoma State) vs. Cole Konrad (Minnesota)
285: Josh Leadingfox (Central Oklahoma) vs. TBA
Note: Lineup is subject to change.



Sooner Sports Properties, LLC, is the multimedia rights holder for athletics at the University of Oklahoma.
Sooner Sports Properties is a joint venture of Learfield Communications and Tyler Media, LLC.


Sooner Sports Powered by FOX Sports is a multi-platform network that provides distribution of 1,000+ hours of Sooner sports programming annually on a variety of FOX Sports outlets, including FOX Sports Oklahoma, FOX Sports Southwest, and FOX College Sports.