Sooner Wrestling Places Third,Takes Two Big 12 Individual Titles

Athletics Communications
By Athletics Communications
University of Oklahoma
MARCH 08, 2003

March 8, 2003

COLUMBIA, Mo. - The Oklahoma wrestling team took third place today in the Big 12 Championships held at the Hearnes Center in Columbia, Mo., with a score of 51.5. Oklahoma State claimed the team title with a score of 101.5. Senior Bo Maynes and freshman Teyon Ware, both making their first appearances in the tournament, claimed individual titles. Ware also claimed the Outstanding Wrestler of the Big 12 Tournament. Oklahoma also garnered two-second place Big 12 finishers in seniors Witt Durden and Robbie Waller.

"I am very proud of our effort," said head coach Jack Spates. "We are pleased to have seven wrestlers going to the NCAA Tournament. We were concerned with the conditions of Witt Durden, Josh Lambrecht and Tom Grossman coming into this match, but we are excited to see them all qualify. Bo Maynes and Teyon Ware were bright spots in this tournament. We will come back with a good week of training and move on to bigger and better things."

In the 125-pound finals, senior Maynes defeated Oklahoma State's Skyler Holman, 4-1. Maynes claimed his first Big 12 Championship in his first appearance at the tournament. Ware, a true freshman, defeated Oklahoma State's freshman Zach Esposito, 5-2, to claim his first Big 12 title. Ware, who is on a 15-match win streak, has defeated Esposito in their last three meetings.

Senior Witt Durden recorded his second consecutive runner-up honors at 133 pounds. Durden fell in the finals to Oklahoma State's defending NCAA Champion Johnny Thompson by a score of 4-1. Senior Robbie Waller, who placed third in last year's conference tournament, took runner-up honors after losing to Oklahoma State's Chris Pendleton, 7-3.

Oklahoma junior Rafael Maturino defeated Iowa State's Nate Meyer to advance to the 157-pound third place match, where he pinned Nebraska's David Ingalls at 2:41 to claim the consolation victory. Senior Tom Grossman defeated Iowa State's Woodley Milord by a score of 6-5 at 197 pounds to advance to the consolation finals, but was unable to defeated Missouri's Dante Stone. Grossman lost to Stone by a score of 7-1, but received one of the Big 12 Conference's six wildcard bids to the NCAA Tournament.

Oklahoma's Danny Rubenstein lost to Missouri's Jeremy Spates in the 149-pound consolation bracket, 4-1, while fellow sophomore Wes Roberts also lost in the consolation match to Nebraska's 165-pounder Jacob Klein, 3-1. Oklahoma heavyweight Jake Hager was unable to advance to the consolation finals, when he was defeated by Scott Coleman of Iowa State, 6-3.

Oklahoma qualified seven wrestlers for the NCAA Tournament March 20-22 in Kansas City, Mo., at Kemper Arena. Oklahoma's qualifiers are Bo Maynes, Witt Durden, Teyon Ware, Rafael Maturino, Robbie Waller, Josh Lambrecht and Tom Grossman.

Team Scores
1.  Oklahoma State101.5
3.  Oklahoma 51.5
5.Iowa State26.5

Finals Results 125 Pounds: Bo Maynes, Oklahoma dec. Skyler Holman, Oklahoma State, 4-1 133 Pounds: Johnny Thompson, Oklahoma State dec. Witt Durden, Oklahoma, 4-1 141 Pounds: Teyon Ware, Oklahoma dec. Zach Esposito, Oklahoma State, 5-2 174 Pounds: Chris Pendleton, Oklahoma State dec. Robbie Waller, Oklahoma, 7-3

Third Place Results 157 Pounds: Rafael Maturino, Oklahoma fall David Ingalls, Nebraska, 1:41 184 Pounds: Josh Lambrecht, Oklahoma dec. Austen Palmer, Iowa State, 11-5 197 Pounds: Dante Stone, Missouri dec. Tom Grossman, Oklahoma, 8-1

Consolation Results 149 Pounds: Jeremy Spates, Missouri dec. Danny Rubenstein, Oklahoma, 4-1 157 Pounds: Rafael Maturino, Oklahoma dec. Nate Meyer, Iowa State, 9-5 165 Pounds: Jacob Klein, Nebraska dec. Wes Roberts, Oklahoma, 3-1 tb 197 Pounds: Tom Grossman, Oklahoma dec. Woodley Milord, Iowa State, 6-5 Heavyweight: Scott Coleman, Iowa State dec. Jake Hager, Oklahoma, 6-3

Semi-Finals Round Results 125 Pounds: Bo Maynes, Oklahoma dec. Grant Nakamura, Iowa State, 6-1 133 Pounds: Witt Durden, Oklahoma dec. Zach Roberson, Iowa State, 11-8 141 Pounds: Teyon Ware, Oklahoma dec. Dusty Spaulding, Nebraska, 12-6 157 Pounds: Kenny Burleson, Missouri dec. Rafael Maturino, Oklahoma, 5-3 174 Pounds: Robbie Waller, Oklahoma dec. Travis Pascoe, Nebraska, 7-2 184 Pounds: Jake Rosholt, Oklahoma State dec. Josh Lambrecht, Oklahoma, 6-1 197 Pounds: Muhammed Lawal, Oklahoma State maj. dec. Tom Grossman, Oklahoma, 10-2

First Round Results 149 Pounds: Nate Gallick, Iowa State dec. Danny Rubenstein, Oklahoma, 8-3 165 Pounds: Nick Passalano, Iowa State dec. Wes Roberts, Oklahoma, 7-5 Heavyweight:Mitch Mandstedt, Nebraska dec. Jacob Hagar, Oklahoma, 6-1 tb



Sooner Sports Properties, LLC, is the multimedia rights holder for athletics at the University of Oklahoma.
Sooner Sports Properties is a joint venture of Learfield Communications and Tyler Media, LLC.


Sooner Sports Powered by FOX Sports is a multi-platform network that provides distribution of 1,000+ hours of Sooner sports programming annually on a variety of FOX Sports outlets, including FOX Sports Oklahoma, FOX Sports Southwest, and FOX College Sports.