OU Named Top Seed at University Park Regional

Athletics Communications
By Athletics Communications
University of Oklahoma
MARCH 29, 2010

March 29, 2010


NORMAN, Okla. – The second-ranked OU women’s gymnastics squad (17-0) has been assigned the No. 1 seed in the University Park Regional, announced by the NCAA selection committee on Monday. The Sooners will face No. 2 seed LSU and meet host Penn State (third seed) in the only 2010 regional featuring three squads that advanced to last year’s NCAA Championships. 

The regional meet will be held on April 10 at 5 p.m. (CT), at Rec Hall on the Penn State campus.

All three of the aforementioned squads competed in the first session of the 2009 NCAA Championships, where LSU advanced to the Super Six team final with its third-place finish in the qualifying session.  Penn State placed fifth, while the Sooners were sixth.

OU is aiming for its third regional title in program history and the first since the 2006 season.  The Sooners also claimed a regional crown in 2004.

Oklahoma clinched its third straight Big 12 title with a team score of 197.175 on Saturday at the Devaney Center in Lincoln, Neb.  OU swept all four team event titles en route to the highest score by a Big 12 Champion since 2001.
The Sooners enter the regional with a RQS average of 197.170 (second only to Alabama - 197.250) and the highest season average of any squad in the country at 196.896. LSU is ranked 11th in the NCAA with a RQS of 196.415, while the Nittany Lions stand 14th with a 196.225 RQS average.
Maryland, Ohio State and New Hampshire round out the University Park field, seeded fourth through sixth, respectively.  

The regional rotation draw was also announced on Monday.  The Sooners open the regional with a bye, before floor.  Penn State will start the meet on vault, Maryland with a bye before bars, New Hampshire on bars, Ohio State on beam and LSU on floor. 

University Park is one of six NCAA regional sites with competition behind held nationwide on April 10. 

The top two teams and the top two all-around competitors (who are not on an advancing team) from each regional will receive an automatic berth to the national championships in Gainesville, Fla, April 22-24, hosted by the University of Florida.

In addition, the event winners at the regional championships will advance to the national championships (in that event only) if they are not part of a qualifying team or the all-around qualifiers.

Tickets to the regional meet can be purchased through the PSU Athletic Ticket Office at (814) 863-1000 or online at www.GoPSUsports.com.  Tickets are $8 for adults and $5 for students/youth. 

University Park Regional (Penn State, host)
1.   Oklahoma
2.   LSU
3.   Penn State
4.   Maryland
5.   Ohio State
6.   New Hampshire

Los Angeles Regional (UCLA, host)
1.   UCLA
2.   Arkansas
3.   Iowa State
4.   Arizona
5.   Brigham Young
6.   Arizona State

Salt Lake City Regional (Utah, host)
1.   Florida
2.   Utah
3.   Auburn
4.   Boise State
5.   Denver
6.   Washington

Columbia Regional (Missouri, host)
1.   Georgia
2.   Oregon State
3.   Missouri
4.   Minnesota
5.   Iowa
6.   North Carolina

Lexington Regional (Kentucky, host)
1.   Alabama
2.   Nebraska
3.   Illinois
4.   Kentucky
5.   Central Michigan
6.   Michigan State

Morgantown Regional (West Virginia, host)
1.   Stanford
2.   Michigan
3.   Southern Utah
4.   North Carolina State
5.   Kent State
6.   West Virginia



Sooner Sports Properties, LLC, is the multimedia rights holder for athletics at the University of Oklahoma.
Sooner Sports Properties is a joint venture of Learfield Communications and Tyler Media, LLC.


Sooner Sports Powered by FOX Sports is a multi-platform network that provides distribution of 1,000+ hours of Sooner sports programming annually on a variety of FOX Sports outlets, including FOX Sports Oklahoma, FOX Sports Southwest, and FOX College Sports.