Two Mens Tennis Players Make All-Big 12 Teams

Athletics Communications
By Athletics Communications
University of Oklahoma
MAY 05, 2004

NORMAN, Okla. -- Oklahoma’s freshman standout Marek Velicka (Prerov, Czech Republic) and the doubles team of Tommy Garrison (Enid, Okla.) and Velicka captured All-Big 12 tennis team honors in the eighth annual Coaches All-Big 12 Conference team selections, as announced by the league office on Wednesday.  The tennis duo produced a solid 7-3 overall mark while Velicka claimed a stellar 18-6 singles score. 

Not since the 2000 season has an OU singles player and doubles team garnered  All-Big 12 team honors. Then OU’s top singles performer Dusty Beard heralded the conference award as well as the No. 1 Sooner duo of Charlie Roberson and Rick Warren.  Prior to the 2000 season, Oklahoma received back-to-back singles honors in 1997 and 1998 with Adam Neal and Beard accepting the award.  Chris Barkla and Beard also gathered conference team honors in 1998.

Velicka is the first Sooner to receive singles and doubles team honors since 1998 when Beard collected both tributes. Velicka also lead the Sooners in scoring this spring playing at the top three positions.

The voting was executed by the league’s head coaches with the men’s team having its traditional 12 members. There were six All-Big 12 doubles teams selected.

2004 All-Big 12 Men’s Singles Team
Benjamin Becker, Baylor, Jr., Orscholz, Germany
Benedikt Dorsch, Baylor, Jr., Welden, Germany
Matias Marin, Baylor, Sr., Rosario, Argentina
Matija Zgaga, Baylor, Fr., Maribor, Slovenia
Marek Velicka, Oklahoma, Fr., Prerov, Czech Republic
Mark Van Elden, Oklahoma State, Jr., Sydney, Australia
Antonio Ruiz, Texas, So., Monterrey, Mexico
Jose Zarhi, Texas, Sr., Santiago, Chile
Lester Cook, Texas A&M, Jr., Sherman Oaks, Calif.
Mohamed Dakki, Texas A&M, Sr., Paris, France
Ante Matijevic, Texas A&M, Jr., Split, Croatia
Jakob Paulsen, Texas Tech, Jr., Idestrup, Denmark

Men’s Doubles Team
Becker-Marin, Baylor
Dorsch-Zgaga, Baylor
Ivor Lovrak (So., Zagreb, Croatia)-Reiner Neurohr (Sr., Worms, Germany), Baylor
Tommy Garrison (So., Enid, Okla.)-Velicka,
Ruiz-Zarhi, Texas
Cook-Matijevic, Texas A&M
Player of the Year: Benedikt Dorsch, Baylor
Newcomer of the Year (tie): Mohamed Dakki, Texas A&M; Jakob Paulsen, Texas Tech
Freshman of the Year (tie): Matija Zgaga, Baylor;
Daniel Byrnes, Oklahoma State, Melbourne, Australia




Sooner Sports Properties, LLC, is the multimedia rights holder for athletics at the University of Oklahoma.
Sooner Sports Properties is a joint venture of Learfield Communications and Tyler Media, LLC.


Sooner Sports Powered by FOX Sports is a multi-platform network that provides distribution of 1,000+ hours of Sooner sports programming annually on a variety of FOX Sports outlets, including FOX Sports Oklahoma, FOX Sports Southwest, and FOX College Sports.