OU's Maple Added to NCAA Field, Seeds Announced
March 10, 2010

March 10, 2010

NORMAN, Okla. – All 10 starters of the eighth-ranked University of Oklahoma wrestling squad will compete at the 2010 NCAA Championships next week in Omaha, Neb., as the NCAA granted true-freshman Kendric Maple an at-large bid at 133 pounds Wednesday evening.

The total marks the most for Oklahoma (16-3-1, 2-2-1 Big 12) under the new NCAA selection format introduced last season (last year sent eight).

Maple, who was the only Sooner not to automatically qualify from the Big 12 Championships last weekend, will join teammates Jarrod Patterson (125), Zack Bailey (141), Kyle Terry (149), Shane Vernon (157), Tyler Caldwell (165), Jeff James (174), Erich Schmidtke (184), Eric Lapotsky (197) and Nathan Fernandez (HWT) at the NCAAs, March 18-20.

Additionally, first round matchups were announced by the NCAAs. Sooners awarded national seeds were No. 3 Terry, No. 5 Bailey, No. 6 Lapotsky, No. 9 Patterson and No. 10 Vernon.

 2010 NCAA Official Brackets

Next week in Omaha, Oklahoma will attempt to garner its seventh team trophy at the NCAAs in the past 11 years and will look to crown its first All-American since 2007.

NCAA action commences at 11 a.m. CST on March 18 inside the Qwest Center, and will conclude with the finals Saturday evening, March 20, at 7 p.m. 

 Oklahoma's NCAA Qualifiers (Weight)  Hometown (Year)  Record
 Jarrod Patterson (125)  Cushing, Okla. (Fr.)  28-9
 Kendric Maple (133)  Wichita, Kan. (Fr.)  31-10
 Zack Bailey (141)  Kansas City, Mo. (Jr.)  24-6
 Kyle Terry (149)  Midwest City, Okla. (Sr.)  26-2
 Shane Vernon  Broken Arrow, Okla. (Sr.)  20-5
 Tyler Caldwell (165)  Wichita, Kan. (Fr.)  27-12
 Jeff James (174)  El Reno, Okla. (Jr.)  22-10
 Erich Schmidtke (184)  Aberdeen, Wash. (RFr.)  16-17
 Eric Lapotsky (197)  Mt. Carmel, Pa. (Sr.)  24-6
 Nathan Fernandez (HWT)  Lawton, Okla. (Jr.)  25-12
  Sooner First Round Matchups

125: No. 9 Jarrod Patterson vs. Brad Pataky (Penn State)
133: Kendric Maple vs. No. 5 Borislav Novachkov (Cal Poly)
141: No. 5 Zack Bailey vs. Kenneth Hashimoto (Northern Colorado)
149: No. 3 Kyle Terry vs. Cesar Grajales (Penn)
157: No. 10 Shane Vernon vs. Daryl Cocozzo (Rutgers)
165: Tyler Caldwell vs. No. 12 Paul Young (Indiana)
174: Jeff James vs. Jarion Beets (UNI)
184: Erich Schmidtke vs. No. 11 Dave Erwin (Penn State)
197: No. 6 Eric Lapotsky vs. Matt Powless (Indiana)
HWT: Nathan Fernandez vs. No. 10 Dominic Russo (Rutgers)


OU Athletic Sponsors Ad - Bedlam
OU Athletic Sponsors Ad Junior Captain
OU Athletic Sponsors Ad - Patriot Ford
OU Athletic Sponsors Ad - chickfila
OU Athletic Sponsors Ad - Red river
OU Athletic Sponsors Ad - Riverwind
OU Athletic Sponsors Ad - Whataburger
OU Athletic Sponsors Ad - GMC