Five Sooners on Academic All-Big 12 Baseball Team
May 17, 2006

DALLAS The Big 12 Conference named 45 student-athletes to the 2006 Academic All-Big 12 Baseball Team, the league office announced Wednesday.

Among those honored, Oklahoma’s Aaron Ivey was the lone nominee with a 4.00 grade point average.

Nominated by each institution’s director of student-athlete support services and the media relations offices, the academic all-league baseball squad consisted of 33 first team members combined with 12 on the second team. First team members consist of those who have maintained a 3.20 of better GPA, and the second team are those who have a 2.00 to 3.19 GPA.

Joining Ivey on the first team were Sooners Ryan Rohlinger, P.J. Sandoval and Steve Guerra.  Daniel McCutchen was named to the second team.

To qualify student-athlete must maintain a 3.00 GPA or higher either cumulative or the two previous semesters. All players nominated must have participated in 60 percent of the team’s scheduled contest, while pitchers are required to have at least one inning pitched per game played by the team or have appeared in 20 percent of their team’s total games. Freshmen and transfer are not eligible in their first year of academic residence. Senior student-athletes who have participated for a minimum of two years and meet all the criteria except percent of participation are eligible.

The No. 13 Oklahoma baseball team travels to Lincoln, Neb., this weekend for its final regular-season series with the No. 8 Nebraska Cornhuskers.  The three-game series begins Friday at 6:35 p.m.

OU Athletic Sponsors Ad - Bedlam
OU Athletic Sponsors Ad Junior Captain
OU Athletic Sponsors Ad - Patriot Ford
OU Athletic Sponsors Ad - chickfila
OU Athletic Sponsors Ad - Red river
OU Athletic Sponsors Ad - Riverwind
OU Athletic Sponsors Ad - Whataburger
OU Athletic Sponsors Ad - GMC