Sooners Placed in NCAA West Regional

Athletics Communications
By Athletics Communications
University of Oklahoma
MAY 01, 2012

May 1, 2012

NORMAN, Okla. -- The 28th-ranked Oklahoma women's golf team received an automatic bid Monday to compete in the NCAA West Regional after winning the Big 12 Championship this past weekend. The 54-hole NCAA regional is set to take place in Erie, Colo., at the par-72 6,575-yard Colorado National Golf Course.

The NCAA West Regional is one of three regionals that will serve as a preliminary round for the NCAA Championships. The top eight teams (out of 24) and two individuals from each regional will advance to the NCAA Championships, to be held May 22-25 in Franklin, Tenn.

"We are really happy to be going out to Colorado. We went there in the fall and it was a good place for us," said OU head coach Veronique Drouin-Luttrell of her squad's first-place finish at the Golfweek Invitational in Aspen in September. "The field is good and we are pretty excited about getting a nine seed. We're just going to go out there and do our best." 

NCAA regionals will also be held in State College, Pa. (East) and in Columbus, Ohio (Central). The Sooners will be joined in the West Regional by fellow Big 12 members Baylor, Iowa State and Texas Tech. Big 12 teams receiving NCAA East Regional bids were Oklahoma State, Texas and Texas A&M. 

Drouin-Luttrell's squad is coming off of a first-place finish at the Big 12 Championship on Sunday, its third victory and fifth top-two finish of the season. Four Sooners finished in the top 16, including sophomores Chirapat Jao-Javanil (second place) and Anne-Catherine Tanguay (fourth place).


The NCAA West Regional Field (Golfweek/Sagarin Ranking)
1. UCLA (1)
2. LSU (6)
3. North Carolina (7)
4. Colorado (11)
5. California (9)
6. Baylor (18)
7. Pepperdine (26)
8. UC Davis (29)
9. Oklahoma (28)
10. Texas Tech (32)
11. Tulsa (39)
12. TCU (40)
13. Iowa State (37)
14. Stanford (38)
15. Denver (43)
16. UNLV (46)
17. New Mexico (50)
18. Oregon State (53)
19. Illinois (58)
20. Kennesaw State (61)
21. San Jose State (60)
22. Missouri State (97)
23. Northern Colorado (174)
24. Jackson State (230)

Kayla Mortellaro, Idaho
Ally McDonald, Mississippi
Amy Anderson, North Dakota State
Maggie Yuan, BYU
Brianna Espinoza, Colorado State
Demi Mark, New Mexico State




Sooner Sports Properties, LLC, is the multimedia rights holder for athletics at the University of Oklahoma.
Sooner Sports Properties is a joint venture of Learfield Communications and Tyler Media, LLC.


Sooner Sports Powered by FOX Sports is a multi-platform network that provides distribution of 1,000+ hours of Sooner sports programming annually on a variety of FOX Sports outlets, including FOX Sports Oklahoma, FOX Sports Southwest, and FOX College Sports.