Season Celebrated at Postseason Banquet

Athletics Communications
By Athletics Communications
University of Oklahoma
APRIL 19, 2011

April 19, 2011

NORMAN, Okla. -- The University of Oklahoma women's basketball team celebrated its season with its fans Monday night at its annual postseason awards banquet.

Held at the USPS National Center for Employee Development, the Sooners honored their coaching staff, players and fans after a season that ended with a third straight trip to the Sweet 16.

A special tribute was also made for the senior class of Danielle Robinson, Carlee Roethlisberger and Lauren Willis that guided the program to back-to-back Final Fours and a record number of home victories.

"There is no doubt this was the hardest working senior class we've ever had at Oklahoma," head coach Sherri Coale said. "Beyond their legacy of wins and championships was that they came to practice, every day, prepared to make themselves and their teammates better."

Photo Gallery

Robinson was named by her teammates as the most valuable player and, for the second straight season, offensive player of the year.

The San Jose, Calif., native was also presented with three awards from OU's scholar-athlete breakfast she missed while at the WNBA Draft. Those included the top honors any OU student-athlete can receive: the Prentice Gautt Award, the Athletic Director's Leadership Award and the Big 12 Conference Medal.

For the second straight season, Jasmine Hartman earned defensive player of the year honors and freshman center Nicole Griffin was named the most improved player.

Hartman was also honored with the Shoush Award, named after former Sooner Lauren Shoush in recognition of the player most willing to sacrifice their body to make a play.

The Sooner Service Award was given to Robert Harper, the Price College of Business Director of Undergraduate Professional Development and External Relations, and the Mary Jane Noble Humanitarian Award was presented to Marty Cavanaugh-Williams.

Roethlisberger, who will continue her Sooner athletics career for one more season as a volleyball player on Santiago Restrepo's squad, earned the team's Nail Award, given to the player who exhibits mental and physical toughness, as well as the Charge Award for most charges taken during the season.

Freshmen sharpshooters Aaryn Ellenberg and Morgan Hook were co-recipients of the Mojo Award, given for creating momentum either offensively or defensively. The duo helped the Sooners set a team record for 3-pointers made, including Ellenberg's individual single-season record of 94.

Joanna McFarland was given the Monster Board Award for leading the team in rebounding.

Whitney Hand, who returned from a knee injury in January following 401 days of rehabilitation, was bestowed the team's Foxhole and Glue Awards for being the best teammate and for epitomizing that which bonded the team together this season.

 2011 OU Women's Basketball Awards
 Most Valuable Player  Danielle Robinson
 Best Offensive Player  Danielle Robinson
 Best Defensive Player  Jasmine Hartman
 Most Improved Player  Nicole Griffin
 Nail Award  Carlee Roethlisberger
 Glue Award  Whitney Hand
 Foxhole Award  Whitney Hand
 Mojo Award  Aaryn Ellenberg and Morgan Hook
 Shoush Award  Jasmine Hartman
 Monster Board  Joanna McFarland
 Charge Award  Carlee Roethlisberger
 Sooner Service Award  Robert Harper
 Mary Jane Noble
 Humanitarian Award
 Marty Cavanaugh-Williams






Sooner Sports Properties, LLC, is the multimedia rights holder for athletics at the University of Oklahoma.
Sooner Sports Properties is a joint venture of Learfield Communications and Tyler Media, LLC.


Sooner Sports Powered by FOX Sports is a multi-platform network that provides distribution of 1,000+ hours of Sooner sports programming annually on a variety of FOX Sports outlets, including FOX Sports Oklahoma, FOX Sports Southwest, and FOX College Sports.