Oklahoma To Compete In Big 12 Championships

Athletics Communications
By Athletics Communications
University of Oklahoma
MARCH 03, 2004

 Oklahoma will travel to compete in the Big 12 Championships on Saturday, March 6, at Hilton Coliseum in Ames, Iowa.  This is the second time the Cyclones have hosted the event in Big 12 history.  Oklahoma State has won five of the previous seven Big 12 titles, 1997-98, 2000-2001 and 2003; the Sooners claimed the other two conference meets, 1999 and 2002.
 Oklahoma is second in the conference with 24 Conference Championships, behind Oklahoma State, which has 30.  The Sooners won six championships under the Big Six, nine under the Big Seven, six under the Big Eight and two under the Big 12.

Champions Look To Defend Titles
 Former Big 12 Champions will look to repeat this weekend at the Big 12 Tournament.  Teyon Ware, with a 16-1 record, will return from injury to defend his 2003 Big 12 Championship.  Another former champion, Leonce Crump, will look to garner the Big 12 title once again.  Crump, a 2001 and 2002 champion, brings a 28-2 record and will look for his third championship in three tries at the tournament.

Sooners In The Rankings
 InterMat                                                           NWCA
125 Pounds:  Sam Hazewinkel, Fr, 10.           125 Pounds:  Sam Hazewinkel, Fr, 11.
133 Pounds:  Mimi Miller, Fr, 19.                   133 Pounds:  Mimi Miller, Fr, 14.
141 Pounds:  Teyon Ware, So, 2.                  141 Pounds:  Teyon Ware, So, 3.
149 Pounds:  Jeff Ecklof, Fr, 9.                       149 Pounds:  Jeff Ecklof, Fr, 9.
174 Pounds:  E.K. Waldhaus, Jr, 14.             174 Pounds:  E.K. Waldhaus, Jr, 11. 
184 Pounds:  Justin Dyer, Fr, 8.                     184 Pounds:  Justin Dyer, Fr, 9.
Heavyweight: Leonce Crump, Sr, 3.              Heavyweight:  LeonceCrump, Sr, 3.

   W.I.N. Magazine
  125 Pounds:  Sam Hazewinkel, Fr, 9.
  133 Pounds:  Mimi Miller, Fr, 15.
  141 Pounds:  Teyon Ware, So, 3.
  149 Pounds:  Jeff Ecklof, Fr, 9.
  174 Pounds:  E.K. Waldhaus, Jr, 14.
  184 Pounds:  Justin Dyer, Fr, 7.
  Heavyweight:  Leonce Crump, Sr, 3.

Sooners Wrap Up Regular Season
 The Sooners ended the regular season with a loss against fifth ranked Missouri, 21-15, on Feb. 22.  The loss puts the Sooners overall record at 14-8 and 0-6 in the Big 12 Conference and gives Missouri only its fourth win in 41 tries against Oklahoma.  The Sooners won four out of ten matches against the Tigers.  Three of those wins came by way of decision; the other was a forfeit at 149 pounds.

Crump Leads By Example
 Senior Leonce Crump is currently ranked fourth nationally and is the leader of the Sooners on the mat.  Crump currently leads the team in wins with 28, overall falls with 10, dual falls with five and has the team’s longest current winning streak at six.  Crump is tied for the team lead with Sam Hazewinkel for wins versus Big 12 competition with five and wins versus top 20 opponents with six.  Crump needs just one more win to surpass the century mark.  Crump’s overall record is 99-18.

Academic All-Big 12 Team 
 The Big 12 Conference honored 22 student-athletes who have been named to the 2004 Wrestling Academic All-Big 12 Team on Tuesday. 

 Four Sooners were honored with All-Big 12 first team honors and one other received the second team mention.  Senior Daniel Caruthers, junior Randy Sulaver, redshirt-freshman Justin Dyer and redshirt-freshman Sam Hazewinkel were all awarded first team honors.  Senior Danny Rubenstein was the lone member on the second team.

Sooners Leading The Big 12
 Sam Hazewinkel and Leonce Crump both lead the Big 12, as of Feb. 24, in wins at their respective weight classes of 125 and HWT.  Jeff Ecklof is tied for first with Zack Esposito of Oklahoma State at 149 pounds with 27 wins.  Hazewinkel and Crump both have 28 wins, which also leads the team. 

 E.K. Waldhaus is third at the 174 pound weight class with 25 wins behind Chris Pendelton of Oklahoma State.

Fantastic Freshmen
 This year’s freshmen class was preseason ranked third in the nation by Amateur Wrestling News.  Currently four freshman start for the Sooners; Sam Hazewinkel, Mimi Miller, Jeff Ecklof and Justin Dyer.  Hazewinkel is currently 6-1 in the Big 12 Conference and is ranked ninth nationally.  Miller, ranked 14th, upset third-ranked and two time defending national champion Johnny Thompson of Oklahoma State in the Bedlam Series.  Ecklof, ranked ninth, is tied for first on the team in overall falls with 10 and tied for first in dual falls with five, tied with Leonce Crump.  Dyer, ranked seventh, upset third ranked Travis Pascoe of Nebraska with a fall at 5:49.

Crump Moving Up Career Pin List
 Leonce Crump added his last pin of the regular season on Feb. 6 over Mike Keenan of Michigan State to move into a three way tie for sixth place with Danny Hodge and Josh Lambrecht.  Crump started the season in 11th place with 26 pins.  After recording 10 falls and moving up five spots, Crump currently has 36 pins, 22 short of Dan Chaid who is first on the list with 58.

Sooner Wrestling Signs New Talent
After recruiting individuals from across the nation, the Oklahoma Sooners
head coach Jack Spates named four new members to their 2005 recruiting
class. The class includes top ranked individuals from Maryland, Oklahoma,
Pennsylvania and Texas.

 The following is a list of the Sooner’s new talent:
 Blake Allen, Vinita High School, Vinita, Okla.
 Jerome Featherstone, Boys’ Latin School of Maryland, Joppa, Md.
 Jake Jackson, Hebron High School, Carrolton, Texas
 Jarrod King, Connellsville High School, Connellsville, Pa.



Sooner Sports Properties, LLC, is the multimedia rights holder for athletics at the University of Oklahoma.
Sooner Sports Properties is a joint venture of Learfield Communications and Tyler Media, LLC.


Sooner Sports Powered by FOX Sports is a multi-platform network that provides distribution of 1,000+ hours of Sooner sports programming annually on a variety of FOX Sports outlets, including FOX Sports Oklahoma, FOX Sports Southwest, and FOX College Sports.