Sooners Win Seven Events at Bobby Lane

Athletics Communications
By Athletics Communications
University of Oklahoma
MARCH 24, 2012

March 24, 2012

ARLINGTON, Texas – The University of Oklahoma track and field teams combined for seven wins on Saturday at the Bobby Lane Invitational hosted by UT-Arlington. The Sooners scored wins in the women’s pole vault, women’s high jump, men’s long jump, men’s 400-meter dash, women’s 800-meter run, men's 1,500-meter run and the men’s 4x400-meter relay. A total of 19 collegiate bests were set at the event as OU had 17 top five finishers in respective events on the day.

The men’s 4x400-meter relay team of Ethan Baker, Eric Cray, Marcus Anderson and Jamel Wood ran three minutes, 8.67 seconds to win the meet’s final event.  

Wood won the men’s 400-meter dash earlier in the day in 46.87 seconds, while Baker was OU’s top finisher in the men’s 200-meter dash, taking ninth in 21.33. Bill Kogel took top honors in the men’s 1,500-meter run, running 3:53.11.

Alex Madkins won the men’s long jump title with a leap of 24 feet, 8.50 inches. Jake Huddleston took second in the men’s pole vault with a collegiate-best 15-9.

Tre Lathan was the top collegiate finisher in the men’s 110-meter hurdles as he placed second overall in 14.13 seconds. Teammate Nathaniel Winfrey ran a collegiate-best 14.46 to finish fifth.

Wayne Walls was the top collegiate finisher in the men’s triple jump, taking second overall with a jump of 47-8. Christian Johnson and Landon Sharp tied for fourth in the men’s high jump each with a best jump of 6-6.75.

Bobby Lane Invitational Results

Alex Acker won her first pole vault title of the 2012 season with a clearance of 13-5.25. Acker was one of three Sooners competing as Jacy Bennett was fifth (11-11.75) and Morgan Nichols was seventh (11-5.75).

Kristen Rice won the women’s high jump and Claire McConnell was fourth as each cleared 5-7.

The Sooners had three of the top five finishers in the women’s 800-meter run as Kelsey Brown won the event in 2:09.85. Natalie Crain (2:10.70) and Shakeeri Cole (2:12.72) were third and fourth, respectively. Molly Ferguson ran a collegiate-best 2:14.82 to finish seventh.

Hilary Krein came in fifth in the women’s 1,500-meter run in a collegiate-best 4:37.32. McConnell turned in a top-10 finish in the women’s 100-meter hurdles as she also ran a collegiate-best in 14.59 seconds.

Sherine Wells was 10th in the women’s 100-meter dash (11.81) and the 200-meter dash (24.47). Shelleyeka Rolle opened her outdoor season with a sixth-place finish in the women’s 400-meter dash (55.86).

The women’s 4x400-meter relay team of Cole, Brown, Crain and Ferguson finished sixth in 3:52.23.

Kevin Schwab opened his outdoor season at the Arizona State Invitational Saturday evening. Schwab ran 3:46.45 to finish fourth as the top collegiate runner in the men’s 1,500-meter run. The time is a collegiate best for the senior and the 10th best time in program history.

Oklahoma returns to action next week at the 85th annual Clyde Littlefield Texas Relays in Austin.

Bobby Lane Invitational Results
March 24, 2012 – Arlington, Texas
Women’s 100m Dash: 10. Sherine Wells, 11.81, 15. Ti’Anca Mock, 11.93; Men’s 100m Dash: 16. Marcus Anderson, 10.62, 34. Michael Ervin, 10.96, 48. Alex Madkins, 11.20; Women’s 200m Dash: 10. Sherine Wells, 24.47, 26. Claire McConnell, 25.44; Men’s 200m Dash: 9. Ethan Baker, 21.33, 17. Nathaniel Winfrey, 21.86, 28. Michael Ervin, 22.16, 58. Wayne Walls, 23.76, 45. Tre Lathan, 22.96; Women’s 400m Dash: 6. Shelleyeka Rolle, 55.86; Men’s 400m Dash: 1. Jamel Wood, 46.87, 13. Eric Cray, 48.94; Women’s 800m Run: 1. Kelsey Brown, 2:30.06, 3. Natalie Crain, 2:10.70, 4. Shakeeri Cole, 2:12.72, 7. Molly Ferguson, 2:14.82, 32. Robin Ray, 2:30.06; Men’s 800m Dash: 15. Bill Kogel, 1:57.27; Women’s 1500m Run: 5. Hilary Krein, 4:37.32, 17. Kelly Waters, 4:46.19; Men’s 1500m Run: 1. Bill Kogel, 3:53.11; Women’s 100m Hurdles: 7. Claire McConnell, 14.59; Men’s 110m Hurdles: 2. Tre Lathan, 14.13, 5. Nathaniel Winfrey, 14.46, 27. Seth Lewandowski, 17.50; Women’s 4x400-Meter Relay: 6. Cole, Brown, Crain, Ferguson, 3:52.23; Men’s 4x400-Meter Relay: 1. Baker, Cray, Anderson, Wood, 3:08.67; Women’s High Jump: 1. Kristen Rice, 5-7, 4. Claire McConnell, 5-7; Men’s High Jump: 4. Christian Johnson and Landon Sharp, 6-6.75, 14. Seth Lewandowski, 5-10.75; Women’s Pole Vault: 1. Alex Acker, 13-5.25, 5. Jacy Bennett, 11-11.75, 7. Morgan Nichols, 11-5.75; Men’s Pole Vault: 2. Jake Huddleston, 15-9, 7. Seth Lewandowski, 13-3.50; Men’s Long Jump: 1. Alex Madkins, 24-8.50; Men’s Triple Jump: 2. Wayne Walls, 47-8

Arizona State Invitational Results
March 24, 2012 – Tempe, Ariz.
Men’s 1500m Run: 4. Kevin Schwab, 3:46.45



Sooner Sports Properties, LLC, is the multimedia rights holder for athletics at the University of Oklahoma.
Sooner Sports Properties is a joint venture of Learfield Communications and Tyler Media, LLC.


Sooner Sports Powered by FOX Sports is a multi-platform network that provides distribution of 1,000+ hours of Sooner sports programming annually on a variety of FOX Sports outlets, including FOX Sports Oklahoma, FOX Sports Southwest, and FOX College Sports.