Robinson on Preseason Wooden Watch

Athletics Communications
By Athletics Communications
University of Oklahoma
OCTOBER 05, 2010

Oct. 5, 2010

LOS ANGELES -- Oklahoma's Danielle Robinson was named to the Women's Wooden Award preseason watch list for a consecutive year, announced Tuesday by the Los Angeles Athletic Club.

The women's list is comprised of 30 student-athletes who, based on last year's individual performance and team records, are the early frontrunners for college basketball's most prestigious honor.

Robinson, a State Farm Coaches' All-American and Wade Trophy finalist last season, led her team to back-to-back Final Fours in 2009 and 2010.

Transfers, freshmen and medical redshirts are not eligible for the preseason list. These players and others who excel throughout the season will be evaluated and considered for December's Midseason list and the official voting ballot released in March. The National Ballot consists of approximately 20 top players who have proven to their universities that they are also making progress toward graduation and maintaining at least a cumulative 2.0 GPA. The Wooden Award All American Team, consisting of the nation's top five players, will be announced the week of the "Elite Eight" round of the NCAA Tournament.

The 35th annual Wooden Award ceremony, which will include the announcement of the Men's and Women's Wooden Award winners, a special tribute to Coach Wooden and Wooden Award founder Duke Llewellyn, and the presentation of the Wooden Award All American Teams and the Legends of Coaching Award, will take place the weekend of April 8-10, 2011.

2010-11 John R. Wooden Award Women's Preseason List
Player Class Pos. Institution Conference
Danielle Adams Sr. F/C Texas A&M Big 12
Kachine Alexander Sr. G Iowa Big Ten
Angie Bjorklund Sr. G/F Tennessee SEC
Jessica Breland Sr. F North Carolina ACC
Elena Delle Donne So. G/F Delaware CAA
Skylar Diggins So. G Notre Dame Big East
Jasmine Dixon Jr. F UCLA Pac 10
Victoria Dunlap Sr. F Kentucky SEC
Dawn Evans Sr. G James Madison CAA
Brittney Griner So. C Baylor Big 12
Amber Harris Sr. F Xavier Atlantic 10
Tiffany Hayes Jr. G Connecticut Big East
Shenise Johnson Jr. G Miami ACC
Jantel Lavender Sr. C Ohio State Big Ten
Italee Lucas Sr. G North Carolina ACC
Maya Moore*# Sr. F Connecticut Big East
Deirdre Naughton Sr. G DePaul Big East
Nnemkadi Ogwumike* Jr. F Stanford Pac 10
Kayla Pedersen Jr. F Stanford Pac 10
Ta'Shia Phillips Sr. C Xavier Atlantic 10
Samantha Prahalis Jr. G Ohio State Big Ten
Lauren Prochaska Sr. G/F Bowling Green Mid-American
Chastity Reed Sr. F UALR Sun Belt
Danielle Robinson Sr. G Oklahoma Big 12
Sugar Rodgers So. G Georgetown Big East
Shekinna Stricklen Jr. G/F Tennessee SEC
Helena Sverrisdottir Sr. G/F TCU Mountain West
Carolyn Swords Sr. C Boston College ACC
Jasmine Thomas Sr. G Duke ACC
Courtney Vandersloot Sr. G Gonzaga West Coast

(Based on a preseason poll. Players listed alphabetically.)
*indicates player chosen to the 2010 Wooden All American Team
#indicates player was 2009 Wooden Award winner
% indicates player chosen to the 2008 Wooden All American Team




Sooner Sports Properties, LLC, is the multimedia rights holder for athletics at the University of Oklahoma.
Sooner Sports Properties is a joint venture of Learfield Communications and Tyler Media, LLC.


Sooner Sports Powered by FOX Sports is a multi-platform network that provides distribution of 1,000+ hours of Sooner sports programming annually on a variety of FOX Sports outlets, including FOX Sports Oklahoma, FOX Sports Southwest, and FOX College Sports.