Paris on First Naismith List

Athletics Communications
By Athletics Communications
University of Oklahoma
DECEMBER 13, 2006

ATLANTA -- Courtney Paris, who was one of four finalists last season, was named to the initial list of 50 players up for the 2007 Naismith Award.  The Naismith Trophy is presented annually to the top men's and women's college basketball players of the year.

Paris is the only returning finalist on the preseason list.  Last years award went to Seimone Augustus of LSU.  Rutgers' Cappie Pondexter and North Carolina's Ivory Latta were also finalists.

Paris, Morenike Atunrase (Texas A&M), Kiera Hardy (Nebraska), Lindsey Medders (Iowa State) and Tiffany Jackson (Texas) were the other Big 12 representatives.

The Sooner sophomore is averaging 21.6 points and 14. 6 rebounds for the undefeated Sooners (8-0) this season. She has kept alive her double-double streak of 36 games, which is by far the longest active streak in Division I basketball.  Paris is 39 points shy of 1,000 career points.  She is on pace to reach the milestone in her 46th career game, which would be one of the fastest paces in NCAA history.

The Top 50 list, selected on last season's performances and expectations for the 2006-07 season, was compiled by the Atlanta Tipoff Club's Board of Selectors, comprised of leading basketball journalists, coaches and administrators from around the country. In January, the Board of Selectors will narrow the list to the Top 30 players in the nation. Those players, and others who distinguish themselves throughout the season, will be eligible for the final ballot in March.

The Naismith Preseason 50
Matee Ajavon , G, Rutgers
Jolene  Anderson, G, Wisconsin
Morenike Atunrase, G/F, Texas A&M
Alison Bales,  C, Duke
DeWanna Bonner,  F, Auburn
Sha Brooks,  G, Florida
Essense Carson,  F, Rutgers
Cori Chambers ,  G, Georgia
Angela Clark, F, St. John's
Marissa Coleman,  F, Maryland
Jazz Covington,  F, Louisville
Jessica Davenport, C, Ohio State
Dee Davis,  G, Vanderbilt
Jessica Dickson,  G, South Florida
Shay Doron,  G, Maryland
Sylvia Fowles,  C, LSU
Katie Gearlds,  G, Purdue
Chrissy Givens,  F, Middle Tennessee
Devanai Hampton,  C, Cal
Lindsey Harding,  G, Duke
Kiera Hardy,  G, Nebraska
Laura Harper,  F, Maryland
Cameo Hicks,  G, Washington
Alexis Hornbuckle, G, Tennessee
Charde Houston,  F, Connecticut
Tasha Humphrey,  F, Georgia
Tiffany Jackson,  F, Texas
Tye Jackson,  F, Houston
Crystal Kelly,  F,  Western Kentucky
Crystal Langhorne, F, Maryland
Erlana Larkins,  F, UNC
Ivory Latta,  G, UNC
Camille Little,  F, UNC
Victoria Lucas-Perry, G, Michigan State
Dionne Marsh,  F, New Mexico
Lindsey Medders,  G, Iowa State
Renee Montgomery, G, Connecticut
Shay Murphy, G, USC
Courtney Paris, C, Oklahoma
Candace Parker, F/G/C, Tennessee
Armintie Price, G, Ole Miss
Allie Quigley, G, DePaul
Noelle Quinn, F, UCLA
Jillian Robbins, F, Tulsa
Megan Skouby, C, Iowa
Brooke Smith, F/C, Stanford
Kristi Toliver, G, Maryland
Mercedes Walker, C, Pittsburgh
Emily Westerberg, F, Arizona State
Candice Wiggins, G, Stanford



Sooner Sports Properties, LLC, is the multimedia rights holder for athletics at the University of Oklahoma.
Sooner Sports Properties is a joint venture of Learfield Communications and Tyler Media, LLC.


Sooner Sports Powered by FOX Sports is a multi-platform network that provides distribution of 1,000+ hours of Sooner sports programming annually on a variety of FOX Sports outlets, including FOX Sports Oklahoma, FOX Sports Southwest, and FOX College Sports.