Two Sooners Earn Big 12 Honors

Athletics Communications
By Athletics Communications
University of Oklahoma
APRIL 28, 2008

April 28, 2008

NORMAN, Okla. - Two University of Oklahoma men's tennis players received All-Big 12 honors, the Big 12 Conference announced Monday.  Sophomore Andrei Daescu was named to the All-Big 12 singles team and was voted a unanimous selection.  Senior Federico Chavarria and Daescu were also named to the All-Big 12 doubles team.

The singles honor is the first for the Bucharest, Romania, native who compiled a 15-7 singles record on the season while holding down the No. 1 singles spot for the Sooners.

"Andrei and Federico worked hard all season and these awards are a product of their success," head coach Paul Lockwood said.

The doubles award is the second consecutive for the duo who were also named to the team last season.  Chavarria and Daescu finished the season with a record of 14-7.

"I'm extremely proud of both of these guys but it makes it more special for Federico (Chavarria) to collect this award as a senior," Lockwood added.  He has dedicated four years to this program and he deserves to go out on a high note."

A total of 17 Sooners have earned All-Big 12 singles and doubles honors under OU head coach Paul Lockwood, who is in his 21st season at the helm of the Sooners.

"Andrei (Daescu) is excited about the distinction but is focused on making the NCAA tournament field and he knows he still has some work left this season," Lockwood added.

Daescu now awaits the NCAA selection process to determine where he will go as an individual for the 2008 NCAA Tennis Championships.  The 2008 NCAA Division I men's and women's tennis selection announcements will air between 2 and 2:30 p.m. Eastern time, Tuesday, April 29, on ESPNews.

In addition, the ESPNews audio signal is available on the ESPNews channel on XM Radio and SIRIUS Radio.

2008 ALL-BIG 12 TEAM

Denes Lukacs, Baylor, So.
Lars Poerschke, Baylor, Sr.*
Andrei Daescu, Oklahoma, So.*
Oleksandr Nedovyesov, Oklahoma State, So.*
Luis Diaz Barriga, Texas, Sr.
Ed Corrie, Texas, Fr.*
Kellen Damico, Texas, Fr.
Dimitar Kutrovsky, Texas, So.*
Austin Krajicek, Texas A&M. Fr.*
Conor Pollock, Texas A&M, Jr.
Sinisa Markovic, Texas Tech, Jr.*
Bojan Szumanski, Texas Tech, Sr.*

David Galic/Denes Lukacs, Baylor
Andrei Daescu/Federico Chavarria, Oklahoma
Nathan Byrnes/Oleksandr Nedovyesov, Oklahoma State*
Ed Corrie/Kellen Damico, Texas*
Austin Krajicek/Conor Pollock, Texas A&M
Christian Rojmar/Bojan Szumanski, Texas Tech*

*- Unanimous Selection



Sooner Sports Properties, LLC, is the multimedia rights holder for athletics at the University of Oklahoma.
Sooner Sports Properties is a joint venture of Learfield Communications and Tyler Media, LLC.


Sooner Sports Powered by FOX Sports is a multi-platform network that provides distribution of 1,000+ hours of Sooner sports programming annually on a variety of FOX Sports outlets, including FOX Sports Oklahoma, FOX Sports Southwest, and FOX College Sports.