Nov. 20, 2000

NORMAN, Okla. - Senior defensive specialist Maxine Zubiaga headlined five University of Oklahoma volleyball players selected to the Academic All-Big 12 team, as the list was announced by the conference office on Monday. All five scholar-athletes, including senior middle blocker Cathy Cook, senior outside hitter Maria Holmgren, senior setter Carolyn Kittell and sophomore defensive specialist Elizabeth Newman, were named to the first-team list as Zubiaga captured her third-straight first-team accolade. Kittell was the only other repeat selection for OU, as the Laguna Beach, Calif., native garnered second team honors last year.

The conference honored 45 total volleyball scholar-athletes on both the first and second team lists, including 31 first-team members. Each of the 11 schools in the league that sponsors volleyball had at least three representatives, with nine of those schools boasting five or more.

A first-team designation is awarded to those student-athletes who have maintained a grade point average of 3.2 or better and who have participated in 60 percent of the team's scheduled matches. Freshmen and transfer student-athletes are not eligible in their first year of academic residence.

Cathy Cook
Maria Holmgren
Carolyn Kittell
Elizabeth Newman
Maxine Zubiaga