Men's Golf In Eighth Place After Day One Of Big 12 Tourney

Athletics Communications
By Athletics Communications
University of Oklahoma
APRIL 24, 2000

April 24, 2000

HUTCHINSON, Kan. - Oklahoma State fired a Big 12 Tournament record two round score of 559 to take the lead after the first 36 holes of the 2000 Big 12 Men's Golf Championship at Prairie Dunes Country Club.

OSU's second round score of 272 also set the Big 12 Tournament record for a one round score, bettering the previous mark of 279 scored by Texas in last year's third round. The two-round score of 559 broke the record of 570 set by Kansas last year.

Defending Big 12 Tournament champion Kansas is second with a 569 followed by Kansas in third with a 572.

Individually, Oklahoma State junior Charles Howell leads the pack with a Big 12 Tournament record 132 after shooting a 66 in both rounds. His two-round score is three strokes better than the previous Big 12 Tournament record of 135 recorded by OSU's Leif Westerberg in 1997 (67-68). Howell's 66s tied the Big 12 Tournament record for a one round score first set by Colorado's Matt Call in the 1999 third round.

Texas A&M's Sean Gilliland is second with a 137. Bryan Milberger of Kansas State, Ryan Vermeer of Kansas and Edward Loar of Oklahoma State are tied for third at 140.

The final 18 holes of the tournament will be played Tuesday with tee times beginning at 8 a.m.

Team Standings (After 36 Holes) Par 560

1. Oklahoma State287-272-559
2. Kansas287-282-569
3. Texas286-286-572
4. Texas A&M284-289-573
5. Colorado285-292-577
6. Texas Tech291-291-582
7. Baylor292-292-584
8. Oklahoma296-291-587
9. Kansas State297-291-588
10. Missouri297-295-592
11. Iowa State304-299-603
12. Nebraska304-306-610

Players (Team) Scores (par 140)

Charles Howell (OSU)66-66-132
Sean Gilliland (A&M)70-67-137
Bryan Milberger (KSU)71-69-140
Ryan Vermeer (KU)72-68-140
Edward Loar (OSU)72-68-140
J. J. Wall (UT)71-70-141
Andy Stewart (KU)71-71-142
Casey Harbour (KU)70-72-142
Matt Brost (UT)69-73-142
Dwayne Morley (A&M)70-73-143
John Klauk (UT)73-70-143
Brooks Kelly (Tx Tech)73-70-143
Anders Hultman (OSU)76-67-143
Aaron Pellegrom (BU)69-75-144
Kane Webber (CU)71-73-144
Matt Call (CU)70-74-144
Matthew Zions (CU)72-73-145
Conrad Roberts (KU)74-71-145
John Kidwell (OU)72-73-145
Steve Carroll (CU)74-72-146
David Bolen (Tx Tech)71-75-146
David Gossett (UT)73-73-146
Matt Lindholm (A&M)72-75-147
Josh McCoy (A&M)72-75-147
Cody Freeman (OU)73-74-147
Ben Fiala (CU)72-76-148
Scott McNeely (KSU)77-71-148
Corey Henegar (Tx Tech)76-72-148
J. C. DeLeon (OSU)77-71-148
Landry Mahan (OSU)73-75-148
Phil Slovitt (ISU)73-75-148
Tom Vogt (MU)72-76-148
Trey Pyka (Tx Tech)72-77-149
Matt Cohn (OU)80-69-149
Kevin Oswald (ISU)76-73-149
Kelsey Cline (OU)74-75-149
Cory Ewert (MU)75-72-149
Mark Hull (Tx Tech)75-74-149
TY Cox (A&M)76-74-150
Jake Istnick (KU)77-73-150
Mark McBride (MU)75-75-150
Brandon Sanders (BU)74-66-150
Jimmy Walker (BU)75-75-150
Worth Williams (BU)74-76-150
Matt Williams (KSU)74-77-151
Neal Stafford (MU)75-76-151
Matt Gatchel (ISU)77-75-152
Jim Troy (NU)71-81-152
J. J. Sullivan (NU)75-79-154
Rob Arthur (NU)81-73-154
Russell Surber (UT)74-80-154
David Suggs (MU)82-72-154
Todd Rodemich (KSU)78-77-155
Chris Cureton (OU)77-78-155
Marty Smith (NU)78-78-156
Josh Clay (ISU)78-78-156
Seth Porter (NU)80-76-156
Greg Stephanson (ISU)83-76-159
Mark Sears (KSU)75-74-159
Troy Caesar (BU)83-85-168



Sooner Sports Properties, LLC, is the multimedia rights holder for athletics at the University of Oklahoma.
Sooner Sports Properties is a joint venture of Learfield Communications, Tyler Media, LLC and Griffin Television.


Sooner Sports Powered by FOX Sports is a multi-platform network that provides distribution of 1,000+ hours of Sooner sports programming annually on a variety of FOX Sports outlets, including FOX Sports Oklahoma, FOX Sports Southwest, and FOX College Sports.
  • David Stanley Junior Captain
    Billy Sims
    Red River Showdown
    Ford Patriot of the Game
    OU IT Store Student Fan of the Game