Ware Reaches NCAA Finals

Athletics Communications
By Athletics Communications
University of Oklahoma
MARCH 17, 2006
OKLAHOMA CITY -- Two-time National Champion Teyon Ware advanced once again to the finals of the 141-pound bracket at the 2006 NCAA Championships Friday evening inside the Ford Center. The Sooners also gained five All-Americans on the day with Sam Hazewinkel, Ware, Matt Storniolo, Joel Flaggert and Jake Hager all garnering the honor.

Hazewinkel now becomes a three-time All-American, Ware a four-time All-American, Storniolo a two-time All-American, Flaggert a two-time All-American and Hager receives the recognition for the first time in his career.

NCAAs at Ford Center | NCAA Wrestling | Live Results

Ware (141 pounds) defeated Cory Cooperman in the semifinals to advance to the championship match. Ware defeated Cooperman by a decision of 2-1, winning by his riding time at the end of the match. Ware has now defeated Cooperman twice this season.

Ware will now wrestle Nate Gallick of Iowa State in the finals on Saturday. Ware and Gallick have met three times this season with Gallick taking all three matches. Their first match came at the NWCA All-Star Classic in Stillwater with Gallick winning by a decision of 3-1. The duo met again in Norman in January with Gallick winning again by a decision of 4-3. The two last met in the finals at the Big 12 Championships two weeks ago with Gallick once again coming out on top by a decision of 5-3.

Gallick leads the all-time series with Ware with a 7-1 lifetime record. Ware’s lone victory came in the 141-pound NCAA final last season with Ware taking a 3-2 decision to claim his second NCAA title.

Sam Hazewinkel and Matt Storniolo both lost their semifinal matches at 125 pounds and 149 pounds, respectively.

Hazewinkel was defeated by Joe Dubuque of Indiana by a decision of 2-1 with riding time being the deciding factor. Hazewinkel will now face Chad Mendes of Cal Poly Saturday morning in the consolation bracket.

Dustin Schlatter of Minnesota defeated Storniolo by a decision of 5-1. Storniolo will now wrestle Jonathan Masa of Hofstra in the 149-pound consolation bracket. Storniolo defeated Masa by a decision of 6-1 in February.

Joel Flaggert won two matches in the consolation bracket at 197 pounds. Flaggert first defeated Dallas Herbst of Wisconsin by a decision of 5-1 and then Ryan Bader of Arizona State by a decision of 9-4. Flaggert will now face Jerry Rinaldi of Cornell on Saturday morning. Flaggert lost to Rinaldi by a decision of 2-1 at the National Duals in January.

Jake Hager defeated Tyler Shovlin of UNC-Greensboro, 9-4, then was defeated by Bode Ogunwole of Harvard by a decision of 3-1 in sudden victory. Hager faces Kirk Nail of Ohio State for seventh place Saturday morning.
Saturday’s action begins at 10 a.m. inside the Ford Center with consolation matches. Championship finals begin at 6 p.m.

Team Scores
1. Oklahoma State - 106
2. Minnesota - 72.5
3. Oklahoma - 64.5
4. Iowa - 61.5
5. Arizona State - 56

Individual Results Session Four
Weight-By-Weight Results
125: Joe Dubuque (Indiana) dec. 2-1 Sam Hazewinkel (OU)
141: Teyon Ware (OU) dec. 2-1 Cory Cooperman (Lehigh)
149: Dustin Schlatter (Minnesota) dec. 5-1 Matt Storniolo (OU)
197: Joel Flaggert (OU) dec. 5-1 Dallas Herbst (Wisconsin)
197: Joel Flaggert (OU) dec. 9-4 Ryan Bader (Arizona State)
HWT: Jake Hager (OU) dec. 9-4 Tyler Shovlin (UNC-Greensboro)
HWT: Bode Ogunwole (Harvard) dec. 3-1 Jake Hager (OU) SV



Sooner Sports Properties, LLC, is the multimedia rights holder for athletics at the University of Oklahoma.
Sooner Sports Properties is a joint venture of Learfield Communications and Tyler Media, LLC.


Sooner Sports Powered by FOX Sports is a multi-platform network that provides distribution of 1,000+ hours of Sooner sports programming annually on a variety of FOX Sports outlets, including FOX Sports Oklahoma, FOX Sports Southwest, and FOX College Sports.