Sooners Drop Bedlam Dual, 27-6

Athletics Communications
By Athletics Communications
University of Oklahoma
FEBRUARY 22, 2009

Feb. 22, 2009


No. 11 Oklahoma
No. 15 OK State
Near falls

STILLWATER, Okla. --The 11th-ranked Oklahoma wrestling team’s bid for three straight against its in-state rival was halted in Stillwater on Sunday, as No. 15 Oklahoma State defeated the Sooners by a 27-6 final.

With the loss, Oklahoma ends the regular season with a 16-4 record and tied with OSU with a 1-4 mark in the Big 12.

"We are very disappointed because we have had a tremendous year up to this point," head coach Jack Spates said.  "We have made steady progress all year but it didn't show up today."

Despite the large margin of victory for OSU, seven matches were decided by two points or less and three went to overtime.

OU was forced to climb an uphill battle from the start, as Oklahoma State (15-7, 1-4) was awarded six points after the Sooners forfeited the opening 125-pound class.  Obenson Blanc, ranked 15th for the Cowboys, was credited with the automatic win.

The 133-pound bout was tied at two to begin the third period between OU’s Brian Shelton and No. 14 Chris Notte. The Cowboy chose the down position to begin the final period and scored an escape with 1:06 remaining to take the win, 3-2, and give OSU a 9-0 team lead.

Sooner Seth Vernon would next challenge No. 14 Jamal Parks at 141 pounds.  After a scoreless first, each wrestler scored an escape to begin the second and third periods.  Tied at one, the match was forced to sudden victory overtime.  After Vernon was unable to post an escape, Parks won the bout with his second escape of the match to win, 2-1, putting the Cowboys on top, 12-0.

No. 6 Kyle Terry struck first with a takedown in the 149-battle versus Luke Silver and led 2-1 to end the first.  Terry would not give up an escape and rode Silver the entire second period to accumulate 2:48 of riding time to enter the final period.  The Midwest City, Okla., native added three more takedowns in the final stanza to win 9-2 with riding time.  The win marked his 25th-straight this season (27-1 overall), including a perfect 5-0 mark against Big 12 competitors.

OU’s Chad Terry, ranked 15th nationally, and No. 10 Neil Erisman would take a 0-0 tie into the second frame at 157 pounds.  Terry scored the second period’s only point with an escape after choosing the down position to lead 1-0.  Erisman then tied the match at one after a Terry stalling penalty in the third.  With :59 seconds of riding time for Terry accumulated, Erisman, who chose down to start the third, scored an escape with 35 seconds remaining to take the match, 2-1.

The Cowboys took a commanding 15-3 lead heading into the 165-pound match, a battle between Sooner Ryan Smith and No. 9 Brandon Mason.  Three periods was not enough, as the match was forced to overtime.  It was the Cowboy’s Mason who took advantage, scoring a takedown in the extra period to win, 3-1.

Another scoreless first period went by at 174 pounds between No. 8 Jeff James of Oklahoma and No. 14 Newly McSpadden of the Cowboys.  Each wrestler posted an escape to begin the second and third periods to tie the match at one, forcing a third overtime bout on the afternoon.  McSpadden eventually upset James, 2-1, with an escape in the extra period to extend OSU’s lead to 21-3.

No. 19 Pat Flynn scored the first points in the 184-pound match with a takedown over Cody Hill.  Leading 2-1 to start the second, Flynn rode Hill the entire period to gain 2:22 of riding time.  The Quakertown, Pa., native added an escape after choosing down to begin the third, followed by a Hill takedown to tie the match at three.  A Flynn escape and riding time point gave Oklahoma its second win of the day, 5-3.

No. 8 Clayton Foster of OSU then took a 7-2 lead to start the third in the 197-pound battle over No. 11 Eric Lapotsky of the Sooners.  Lapotsky’s escape and takedown in the third was not enough, falling by a 7-5 final.

Jared Rosholt of the Cowboys, ranked third in the country, ended the dual with a 10-4 victory over No. 16 Nathan Fernandez in the heavyweight fight to give Oklahoma State a 27-6 win over OU.

"The bottom line is, this is just one match," Spates said.  "We will put it behind us.  I know the character of our guys and we will bounce back."

The Bedlam match concludes the regular season for the Sooners, as they will return to Norman to prepare for the Big 12 Championships in Lincoln, Neb., on March 7.


125:  No. 15 Obenson Blanc (OSU) winner by forfeit
133:  No. 14 Chris Notte (OSU) dec. Brian Shelton (OU), 3-2
141:  No. 14 Jamal Parks (OSU) dec. Seth Vernon (OU), 2-1 TB
149:  No. 6 Kyle Terry (OU) dec. Luke Silver (OSU), 9-2
157:  No. 10 Neil Erisman (OSU) dec. No. 15 Chad Terry (OU), 2-1
165:  No. 9 Brandon Mason (OSU) dec. Ryan Smith (OU), 3-1 SV
174:  No. 14 Newly McSpadden (OSU) dec. No. 8 Jeff James (OU), 2-1 TB
184:  No. 19 Pat Flynn (OU) dec. Cody Hill (OSU), 5-3
197:  No. 8 Clayton Foster (OSU) dec. No. 11 Eric Lapotsky (OU), 7-5
HWT:  No. 3 Jared Rosholt (OSU) dec. No. 16 Nathan Fernandez (OU), 10-4




Sooner Sports Properties, LLC, is the multimedia rights holder for athletics at the University of Oklahoma.
Sooner Sports Properties is a joint venture of Learfield Communications and Tyler Media, LLC.


Sooner Sports Powered by FOX Sports is a multi-platform network that provides distribution of 1,000+ hours of Sooner sports programming annually on a variety of FOX Sports outlets, including FOX Sports Oklahoma, FOX Sports Southwest, and FOX College Sports.