Kim a Semifinalist for Ben Hogan Award

Athletics Communications
By Athletics Communications
University of Oklahoma
MARCH 29, 2006

NORMAN, Okla. Oklahoma junior Anthony Kim has been named one of 10 semifinalists for the Ben Hogan Award, the Golf Coaches Association of America announced today.

The award, sponsored by Bank of America in cooperation with Colonial Country Club, the Friends of Golf and the GCAA, recognizes the top amateur player in college golf.  The Hogan is presented annually to the top men’s NCAA Division I, II, III, NAIA or junior college golfer and takes into account all collegiate and amateur competitions during the last year.

Kim, a two-time All-American and reigning Big 12 Player of the Year, has won two consecutive tournaments to start the spring season.  Most recently he took medalist honors at the Hall of Fame Invitational, March 17-19, at Redstone Golf Club, home of the PGA Tour’s Houston Open.  Kim fired rounds of 67, 69 and 72 to take the title by eight shots.  He also dominated the field in his first tournament victory of the year at the Ashworth Invitational, finishing seven strokes ahead of second place.  His two victories in two starts this spring ran his career win total to five, including the 2005 Big 12 crown.

This past summer, in a field of 156 of the nation's best amateur golfers, Kim earned medalist honors at the U.S. Amateur Public Links Championship by winning the stroke-play portion of the tournament.  He also advanced to the match-play semifinals of the APL before losing in a 20-hole contest. 

In August, Kim advanced to the quarterfinals of the U.S. Amateur at Merion Golf Club in Ardmore, Pa.  He was also a member of the Walker Cup-winning U.S. team that defeated Great Britain and Ireland for the first time since 1997, going 2-1-1 in matches and scoring 2.5 points towards the team total.

In addition to Kim, the list of semifinalists includes returning PING First-Team All-Americans Robert Castro of Georgia Tech, Rhys Davies of East Tennessee State, Matt Every of Florida and Oklahoma State’s Pablo Martin.
Baylor’s Ryan Baca, Andres Gonzales of UNLV, Kyle Reifers of Wake Forest and Georgia’s Brian Harman and Chris Kirk are the other semifinalists.

The Hogan Award selection committee will name three finalists on May 2. The three finalists will attend The Hogan Award banquet on Saturday, May 13 at Colonial Country Club, the Saturday prior to the Bank of America Colonial, with the recipient announced that evening.

2006 Ben Hogan Award Semifinalists
(in alphabetical order)

Ryan Baca, Baylor
Roberto Castro, Georgia Tech
Rhys Davies, East Tennessee State
Matt Every, Florida
Andres Gonzales, UNLV
Brian Harman, Georgia
Anthony Kim, Oklahoma
Chris Kirk, Georgia
Pablo Martin, Oklahoma State
Kyle Reifers, Wake Forest



Sooner Sports Properties, LLC, is the multimedia rights holder for athletics at the University of Oklahoma.
Sooner Sports Properties is a joint venture of Learfield Communications and Tyler Media, LLC.


Sooner Sports Powered by FOX Sports is a multi-platform network that provides distribution of 1,000+ hours of Sooner sports programming annually on a variety of FOX Sports outlets, including FOX Sports Oklahoma, FOX Sports Southwest, and FOX College Sports.