Men's Tennis Wins 10 Matches During Day One Of UTA Invitational

Athletics Communications
By Athletics Communications
University of Oklahoma
OCTOBER 13, 2001

Oct. 13, 2001

NORMAN, Okla. - The University of Oklahoma men's tennis team claimed eight of 12 singles matches and two of three doubles matches in opening day of competition at the Texas-Arlington Invitational on Friday, Oct. 12. Freshmen Alex Nomicos and Matt Lopez won both of their singles match but fell to Juan Pablo Alatorre and Neboijsa Murisie of Lamar in doubles, 8-6.

Nomicos defeated Louisiana Monroe's Mark Edney 7-5, 4-6 and 10-7, and Arkansas-Little Rock's Alexi Pourchinets 7-6, 4-6, 10-7 while Lopez was victorious over Louisiana-Monroe's Greg Bienvenu 6-4, 6-2 and Arkansas-Little Rock's Agustin Mano 3-6, 6-1 and 10-8.

Juniors Matt Ogle, Chris Mitchell and Tobias Kronlein went 1-1 in singles play while Mitchell and Kronlein won their doubles match 8-1 over Lamar's Edgar Gonzalez and John Guerrero. Ogle team with freshman Brad Prigmore to defeat Lamar's Thatcher Cribbs and Christian Oliver 8-3 in doubles.

The Sooners were scheduled to play Oklahoma Baptist and Wichita State in singles and Texas-Arlington and Baylor in doubles today at 8:30 a.m., 1:00 p.m. and 3:00 p.m, respectively, at the UTA Tennis Center in Arlington, Texas.


Matt Ogle (OU) def.

Silvine Tanasoju (Louisiana-Monroe)

4-6, 6-4, 10-7

Luciano Diez (Arkansas-Little Rock) def.

Matt Ogle (OU)

6-2, 6-3

Chris Mitchell (OU) def.

Roger Gubser (UT)

6-4, 1-6, 10-7

Juan Baca (Arkansas-Little Rock) def.

Chris Mitchell (OU)

6-1, 7-6

Tobias Kronlein (OU) def.

Jarrad Bund (Arkansas-Little Rock)

6-4, 4-6, 10-7

Drew Hoskins (Texas) def.

Tobias Kronlein (OU)

6-1, 6-2

Alex Nomicos (OU) def.

Mark Edney (Louisiana-Monroe)

7-5, 4-6, 10-7

Alex Nomicos (OU) def.

Alexi Pourchinets (Arkansas-Little Rock)

7-6, 4-6, 10-6

Brad Prigmore (OU) def.

Bart Fremin (Louisiana-Monroe)

6-0, 6-3

Mithum Murali (Arkansas-Little Rock) def.

Brad Prigmore (OU)

6-7, 6-1, 10-6

Matt Lopez (OU) def.

Greg Bienvenu (Louisiana-Monroe)

6-4, 6-2

Matt Lopez (OU) def.

Agustin Mano (Arkansas-Little Rock)

3-6, 6-1, 10-8

Doubles Mitchell/Kronlein def. Edgar Gonzalez/John Guerrero (LU)8-1 Ogle/Prigmore def. Thatcher Cribbs/Christian Oliver (LU)8-3 Juan Pablo Alatorre/Neboijsa Murisie (LU) def. Lopez/Nomicos (OU) 8-6



Sooner Sports Properties, LLC, is the multimedia rights holder for athletics at the University of Oklahoma.
Sooner Sports Properties is a joint venture of Learfield Communications and Tyler Media, LLC.


Sooner Sports Powered by FOX Sports is a multi-platform network that provides distribution of 1,000+ hours of Sooner sports programming annually on a variety of FOX Sports outlets, including FOX Sports Oklahoma, FOX Sports Southwest, and FOX College Sports.