Four Sooners Named To Rotary Smith Award Preliminary List

Athletics Communications
By Athletics Communications
University of Oklahoma
JANUARY 31, 2001

Jan. 31, 2001

NORMAN, Okla. - The 2001 Rotary Smith Award committee, which honors an individual as the nation's top college baseball player each summer, announced today that it has named Oklahoma baseball players Jason Bartlett, Greg Dobbs, Austin Mix and Matt Sorensen to its preliminary watch list for the 2001 season. The list includes over 160 Division I college baseball players who are under consideration to become the winner of the 14th annual award.

Sports information personnel at all of the Division I baseball schools aided in compiling the list through preseason submissions. Additional nominations will be added throughout the season until the first round of voting begins in May.

In other unrelated Sooner baseball news released today, College Sports Southwest and College Sports Southeast announced that next week's series against Alabama, Feb. 9-11 at Sewell-Thomas Stadium in Tuscaloosa, Ala., will be televised live by both networks. The broadcast times for the three-game set are scheduled to begin on Friday, Feb. 9 at 7 p.m., Saturday, Feb. 10 at 4 p.m. and Sunday, Feb. 11 at 2 p.m., with first pitches occurring seven minutes after the broadcasts begin.

College Sports Southwest is available in several states in the Big 12 Conference region, including Oklahoma, Kansas, Missouri, Nebraska and Texas. College Sports Southeast airs in nine states in the southeast region of the country, including Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, South Carolina and Tennessee.



Sooner Sports Properties, LLC, is the multimedia rights holder for athletics at the University of Oklahoma.
Sooner Sports Properties is a joint venture of Learfield Communications and Tyler Media, LLC.


Sooner Sports Powered by FOX Sports is a multi-platform network that provides distribution of 1,000+ hours of Sooner sports programming annually on a variety of FOX Sports outlets, including FOX Sports Oklahoma, FOX Sports Southwest, and FOX College Sports.