Three Sooners Named Semifinalists

Athletics Communications
By Athletics Communications
University of Oklahoma
NOVEMBER 05, 2008

Nov. 5, 2008

NORMAN, Okla. - Oklahoma's Sam Bradford, Gerald McCoy and Bob Stoops were named semifinalists for the 72nd Maxwell Award, the 14th Chuck Bednarik Award and the 20th George Munger Award, respectively, Wednesday by the Maxwell Football Club.

The respective lists include a field of 15 candidates for each of the awards selected by the Maxwell Football Club Advisory Committee.  The announcement of the winners of the Maxwell and Bednarik Awards will be made during the Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show on Thursday, December 11.

The Maxwell Football Club will announce the winner of the 20th George Munger Award in December. The formal presentation for all three awards will be made at the Maxwell Football Club's Awards Dinner, to be held on Friday March 6, 2009 at the Harrah's Entertainment Complex in Atlantic City, N.J.

Bradford, a sophomore quarterback for OU, set an NCAA record for touchdown passes during freshman/sophomore seasons with 70 TDs and is looking to become the third player in OU history to earn the Maxwell honor and the first since Jason White in 2004.  Tommy McDonald also won the award in 1956.

McCoy is a sophomore defensive tackle who has four sacks over the last three games.  Only one OU player in program history has won the Bednarik Award as Teddy Lehman took home the honor in 2003.

The 2007 Maxwell Award winner, Tim Tebow of Florida, returns as a semifinalist in 2008 while 2007 Bednarik Award finalist James Laurinaitis of Ohio State is a Bednarik semifinalist.

The Big 12 Conference leads all conferences with seven players on the Maxwell list.  Three players from the Big 12 appear on the Bednarik list.



Sooner Sports Properties, LLC, is the multimedia rights holder for athletics at the University of Oklahoma.
Sooner Sports Properties is a joint venture of Learfield Communications and Tyler Media, LLC.


Sooner Sports Powered by FOX Sports is a multi-platform network that provides distribution of 1,000+ hours of Sooner sports programming annually on a variety of FOX Sports outlets, including FOX Sports Oklahoma, FOX Sports Southwest, and FOX College Sports.