Four Sooners Earn Big 12 Academic Honors

Athletics Communications
By Athletics Communications
University of Oklahoma
APRIL 26, 2011

April 26, 2011

IRVING, Texas – Four members of the University of Oklahoma women’s tennis team were named first team Academic All-Big 12, announced by the league Tuesday.

Ana-Maria Constantinescu, Tara Eckel, Marie-Pier Huet and Maria Kalashnikova all earned first team honors for the Sooners.

This is the third straight first team selection for all three of OU’s seniors, Constantinescu, Eckel and Kalashnikova, while Huet was named to the first team for the second straight season.

OU has had at least one selection to the Academic All-Big 12 teams since the honors began in 1997.  This year marks the third-straight year that OU has had at least four honorees.

First team members consist of those who have maintained a 3.20 or better GPA, and the second team are those who have a 3.00 to 3.19 GPA.

To qualify student-athletes must maintain a 3.00 GPA or higher either cumulative or the two previous semesters and must have participated in 60 percent of his/her team's scheduled contests.

Freshmen and transfers are not eligible in their first year of academic residence. Senior student-athletes who have participated for a minimum of two years and meet all the criteria except percent of participation are also eligible.

The Sooners will open postseason play this weekend at the 2011 Big 12 Championships in Waco, Texas.  OU earned the No. 3 seed and will receive a bye in the first round of competition.  OU will face the winner of No. 6 Texas Tech vs. No. 11 Iowa State on Friday, April 29 at 9 a.m.




Sooner Sports Properties, LLC, is the multimedia rights holder for athletics at the University of Oklahoma.
Sooner Sports Properties is a joint venture of Learfield Communications and Tyler Media, LLC.


Sooner Sports Powered by FOX Sports is a multi-platform network that provides distribution of 1,000+ hours of Sooner sports programming annually on a variety of FOX Sports outlets, including FOX Sports Oklahoma, FOX Sports Southwest, and FOX College Sports.