Wrestlers Claim Four Oklahoma Open Titles

Athletics Communications
By Athletics Communications
University of Oklahoma
NOVEMBER 30, 2002

Nov. 30, 2002

NORMAN, Okla. - The University of Oklahoma wrestling team captured four individual title, while competing unattached, at the Oklahoma Open Saturday, in the Howard McCasland Field House. Junior heavyweight Leonce Crump and senior Tom Grossman (197 pounds) recorded their second Oklahoma Open championship while Bo Maynes (125 pounds) and Robbie Waller (174 pounds) both claimed their first. The Sooners had nine other grapplers place in the top four.

Senior Nate Parker lost to Matt Dodgen in the 141 pound finals while true freshman Justin Dyer made an impressive run at 184 pounds, but came up short in the finals. Oklahoma had two wrestlers win the consolation matches for third place finishes, they were Derrick Brown (184 pounds) and Jeremy Lawley (133 pounds).

Oklahoma had five wrestlers finish in fourth place. Placing fourth were Luke Metzler (133 pounds), Jeremiah Rhodes (149 pounds), Rafael Maturino (157 pounds), Randy Sulaver (165 pounds) and E. K. Waldhaus (174 pounds).

Oklahoma's next competition will be against Oklahoma State at the Lloyd Noble Center on Sunday, Dec. 8.

125 Pounds:Bo Maynes - Champion
133 Pounds:Jeremy Lawley - Third Place
        Luke Metzler - Fourth Place
141 Pounds:Nate Parker - Runner-up
149 Pounds:Jeremiah Rhodes - Fourth Place
157 Pounds:Rafael Maturino - Fourth Place
165 Pounds:Randy Sulaver - Fourth Place
174 Pounds:Robbie Waller - Champion
        E.K. Waldhaus - Fourth Place
184 Pounds:Justin Dyer - Runner-up
        Derrick Brown - Third Place
197 Pounds:Tom Grossman - Champion
Heavyweight:Leonce Crump - Champion



Sooner Sports Properties, LLC, is the multimedia rights holder for athletics at the University of Oklahoma.
Sooner Sports Properties is a joint venture of Learfield Communications and Tyler Media, LLC.


Sooner Sports Powered by FOX Sports is a multi-platform network that provides distribution of 1,000+ hours of Sooner sports programming annually on a variety of FOX Sports outlets, including FOX Sports Oklahoma, FOX Sports Southwest, and FOX College Sports.