Sooners Old and New Set for U.S. Am

Athletics Communications
By Athletics Communications
University of Oklahoma
AUGUST 23, 2009

Aug. 23, 2009


TULSA, Okla. - Incoming freshman golfer Davis Lee and former assistant coach and four-year letterwinner Phillip Bryan will represent the University of Oklahoma at the 2009 U.S. Amateur Championship, held Aug. 24-30, in Tulsa, Okla.

The duo are among 312 golfers that will compete Monday and Tuesday in the first and second rounds of stroke play at Southern Hills Country Club and Cedar Ridge Country Club.  Every golfer will play both courses, with the field being cut to the low 64 players for match play after Tuesday's round.

Match play begins on Wednesday and continues until the 36-hole final on Sunday with all match play rounds being contested at Southern Hills.

Bryan will be in the first group off of the No. 1 tee at Southern Hills with a 7:30 a.m. (CT) start.  The 2009 U.S. Amateur Public Links semifinalist is paired with OSU's Morgan Hoffmann and Dan Woltman (Beaver Dam, Wis.).  Bryan is in the field as the first alternate out of sectional qualifying at Shadow Ridge Country Club in Omaha, Neb. The former OU assistant finished second in a three-man playoff, falling to UNC-Charlotte recruit Andy Sajevic of Freemont, Neb. University of Nebraska senior-to-be Brandon Crick (McCook, Neb.) placed third.  

Lee tees off at 1:45 p.m. (CT) off the first tee at Southern Hills and is playing with Chris Scialo (New City, N.Y.) and 2009 SEC Freshman of the Year Bud Cauley (Jacksonville, Fla.) of the University of Alabama.  Lee earned his spot in this week's event with a third-place finish (135) at sectional qualifying at Columbia Country Club in Blythewood, S.C., where he battled Charlotte All-American Corey Nagy (134), two-time Monroe Invitational champ Phillip Mollica (134), Dogwood Invitational champ Brian Harman (136) and former University of Georgia player Michael Green (137). 

Both groups feature 2009 USA Walker Cup selections in Cauley and Hoffmann, the Big 12 Player of the Year.  

Official Site of the U.S. Amateur Championship

The U.S. Amateur Championship is the oldest golf championship in the United States, one day older than the U.S. Open. Throughout its history, the U.S. Amateur has been the most coveted of all amateur titles. Many of the great names of professional golf, such as Arnold Palmer, Jack Nicklaus, Lanny Wadkins, Craig Stadler, Jerry Pate, Mark O'Meara, Hal Sutton, Phil Mickelson and Tiger Woods, grace the Havemeyer Trophy.

The championship is open to amateur golfers who have a USGA Handicap Index not exceeding 2.4. A total of 6,948 entries were accepted by the USGA for this week's event.  The U.S. Amateur will be the 19th USGA championship conducted in the state of Oklahoma. The most recent was the 2009 U.S. Amateur Public Links, held July 13-18 at the Jimmie Austin OU Golf Club in Norman.

Southern Hills will play at 7,093 yards and a par of 35-35—70. Cedar Ridge, the second course used for stroke play, will play at 7,336 yards and a par of 35-35—70.

Tickets can be purchased online at or by calling 888-695-0888. Daily grounds tickets are $15; weekly grounds tickets are $50; and weekly clubhouse tickets are $120. Children 17 and under are admitted free, if accompanied by a paying adult.

Golf fans can also tune in to NBC and The Golf Channel for daily coverage of the match play portion of the event: 

Aug. 26  Golf Channel   1st Round      4-6 p.m.
Aug. 27  Golf Channel  2nd Round      1-3 p.m.
Aug. 28  Golf Channel  Quarterfinals   1-3 p.m.
Aug. 29  NBC               Semifinals      4-6 p.m.
Aug. 30  NBC               Final              4-6 p.m.



Sooner Sports Properties, LLC, is the multimedia rights holder for athletics at the University of Oklahoma.
Sooner Sports Properties is a joint venture of Learfield Communications and Tyler Media, LLC.


Sooner Sports Powered by FOX Sports is a multi-platform network that provides distribution of 1,000+ hours of Sooner sports programming annually on a variety of FOX Sports outlets, including FOX Sports Oklahoma, FOX Sports Southwest, and FOX College Sports.