Oct. 3, 2002

NORMAN, Okla. - The University of Oklahoma wrestling team announced their 2002-2003 schedule on Thursday. The defending Big 12 Champions will host five home duals along with the Oklahoma Open. OU's schedule consists of six teams that are ranked in the preseason top-15.

"As always this is a challenging schedule, which includes many of the nation's elite teams," said head coach Jack Spates. "This is the type of schedule that we feel will prepare us for our goals of repeating as Big 12 Champions and capturing a national championship."

Oklahoma will once again begin its season at the Brockport/Oklahoma Gold Classic in Brockport, N.Y., on Nov. 16. The Sooners will then travel to Columbia, Mo. for the Missouri Open held on Nov. 24., and return to host the Oklahoma Open on Nov. 30 at the Howard McCasland Field House. The Sooners' first home dual will be on Dec. 8 against in-state rival Oklahoma State at 7 p.m. Oklahoma's other home duals are NC State (Jan. 2 at 12 p.m.), Oregon (Jan. 24 at 7 p.m.), Missouri (Jan. 26 at 2 p.m.) and Nebraska (Feb. 7 at 7 p.m.).

All home duals will be held in the Howard McCasland Field House with the exception of the Oklahoma State dual which will be held in the Lloyd Noble Center. Oklahoma will also grapple Oregon State at Harrah High School on Jan. 24.

OU will experience its first dual road test at the Lone Star Duals on Jan. 4, where they will take on Harvard, Cornell and Navy. The Sooners will then head to Tempe, Ariz., to take on Arizona State on Jan. 8. Oklahoma will grapple on Jan. 11, to California for a pair of duals against Fresno State and Cal Poly. The Sooners will then compete in the National Duals hosted by Ohios State on Jan. 18-19. OU's other road duals include Michigan State (Feb. 2), Iowa State (Feb. 16) and Oklahoma State (Feb. 23).

Oklahoma will begin postseason action at the Big 12 Tournament on March 8, in Columbia, Mo., and conclude the season when qualifying wrestlers compete in the NCAA Tournament in Kansas City, Mo., March 20-22.

Day    DateOpponentSite        Time
Saturday    11/16/02Brockport/Oklahoma Gold ClassicBrockport, NY        All Day
Sunday    11/24/02Missouri OpenColumbia, MO        All Day
Saturday    11/30/02Oklahoma OpenNorman, OK        All Day
Sunday    12/8/02Oklahoma StateNorman, OK        7 p.m.
Thursday    1/2/03          North Carolina StateNorman, OK        12 p.m.
*Possibly at local H.S.
Saturday    1/4/03          Lone Star DualsArlington, TX        All Day
Wednesday   1/8/03          Arizona StateTempe, AZ                 7 p.m.
Saturday    1/11/03Fresno St./Cal PolyFresno, San Luis Obispo   12 & 7:30 p.m.
Saturday    1/18/03National Duals (Ohio State)         Columbus, OH        All Day
Sunday    1/19/03National Duals (Ohio State)         Columbus, OH        All Day
Friday    1/24/03Oregon StateHarrah, OK        12 p.m.
Friday    1/24/03OregonNorman, OK        7 p.m.
Sunday    1/26/03Missouri         Norman, OK        2 p.m.
Sunday    2/2/03Michigan StateEast Lansing, MI        12:30 p.m.
Friday    2/7/03Nebraska         Norman, OK        7 p.m.
Sunday    2/16/03Iowa StateAmes, IA        2 p.m.
Sunday    2/23/03Oklahoma StateStillwater, OK        TBA
Saturday    3/08/03Big XII Tournament                  Columbia, MO        TBA
Thursday    3/20-22/03NCAA TournamentKansas City, MO        TBA