Blundell Selected to NCAA West Regional Field

Athletics Communications
By Athletics Communications
University of Oklahoma
MAY 10, 2010

May 10, 2010

NORMAN, Okla. - University of Oklahoma men's golfer Ben Blundell was selected Monday by the NCAA Division I Men's Golf Committee to participate in the 2010 NCAA West Regional, May 20-22, at Gold Mountain Golf Club in Bremerton, Wash. 

The 54-hole event, hosted by the University of Washington, is one of six regional locations.

“I couldn’t be happier for Ben to conclude his collegiate career with a spot in the NCAA Championships,” said head coach Ryan Hybl.  “He has been a key contributor since his freshman season here at Oklahoma and someone that epitomizes the way the game should be played.”

Three of the regional sites, including the West region, feature 13 teams and 10 individual competitors while the other three regional fields include 14 teams and five individuals. 

The low five teams and the low individual not on one of the advancing teams from each regional will qualify to the finals.
The regional site is the same course that Blundell and his Oklahoma teammates made their last regional appearance at in 2008.  Blundell fired rounds of 79, 80 and 73 at that event, concluding the event at +16. 

Blundell’s 41 collegiate appearances rank first on the current roster, while his 117 career rounds are eighth-most by any Sooner since the 1994-95 season.

The Rowlett, Texas, native has appeared in all 12 tournaments this season and has recorded a stroke average of 73.19.  Blundell has seven top 25 finishes on the year, including a third-place showing at the 24-team Cowboy Classic in Scottsdale, Ariz., on April 6.    

The NCAA finals will be conducted June 1-6, at The Honors Course in Chattanooga, Tennessee. The University of Tennessee at Chattanooga is the host institution for this year's championships.

Coverage of Blundell's play throughout the 2010 NCAA West Regional can be found on


Gold Mountain Golf Club - Bremerton, Washington
Hosted by the University of Washington

1. Washington (Pacific-10 Conference)
2. Southern California
3. Illinois (Big Ten Conference)
4. Oregon State
5. San Diego
6. Colorado State (Mountain West Conference)
7. Middle Tennessee
8. SMU
9. New Mexico
10. Fresno State
11. Eastern Michigan
12. VCU
13. Loyola (Maryland) (Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference)

1. Espen Kofstad, Denver
2. Austin Graham, UC Davis
3. Brandon Crick, Nebraska
4. Gabe Maier, Wyoming
5. Rodolfo Cazaubon, North Texas
6. Kyle Peterman, Western Illinois
7. Ben Blundell, Oklahoma
8. Kevin Tucker, Washington State
9. Nathan Sutherland, Miami (Ohio)
10. Carlos Ortiz, North Texas



Sooner Sports Properties, LLC, is the multimedia rights holder for athletics at the University of Oklahoma.
Sooner Sports Properties is a joint venture of Learfield Communications and Tyler Media, LLC.


Sooner Sports Powered by FOX Sports is a multi-platform network that provides distribution of 1,000+ hours of Sooner sports programming annually on a variety of FOX Sports outlets, including FOX Sports Oklahoma, FOX Sports Southwest, and FOX College Sports.