Sampson Named Naismith Finalist

Athletics Communications
By Athletics Communications
University of Oklahoma
FEBRUARY 27, 2003

Feb. 27, 2003

NORMAN, Okla. - Last year's National Association of Basketball Coaches and CBS/Chevrolet National Coach of the Year, Kelvin Sampson was named one of 25 finalists for the 2003 Naismith College Coach of the Year Award on Wednesday by the Atlanta Tipoff Club.

Sampson, who has guided the OU men's basketball team to a 103-24 (.811) record over the past four seasons and a current No. 3 national ranking, is one of four Big 12 Conference coaches on the list of 25 finalists. Others include Texas' Rick Barnes, Oklahoma State's Eddie Sutton and Kansas' Roy Williams. The winner will be honored in Atlanta on April 11.

Sampson also earned national coach of the year acclaim in 1994-95, his first season at OU, from the Associated Press, United States Basketball Writers Association and Basketball Times.

2003 Naismith Coach of the Year Finalists
Dana Altman, Creighton
Rick Barnes, Texas
Jim Boeheim, Syracuse
Ben Braun, California
Mike Brey, Notre Dame
Jim Calhoun, Connecticut
Tom Crean, Marquette
Billy Donovan, Florida
Jim Harrick, Georgia
Ben Howland, Pittsburgh
Mike Krzyzewski, Duke
Rick Majerus, Utah
Thad Matta, Xavier
Mike Montgomery, Stanford
Lute Olson, Arizona
Rick Pitino, Louisville
Skip Prosser, Wake Forest
Oliver Purnell, Dayton
Kelvin Sampson, Oklahoma
Bill Self, Illinois
Tubby Smith, Kentucky
Rick Stansbury, Mississippi State
Eddie Sutton, Oklahoma State
Gary Williams, Maryland
Roy Williams, Kansas



Sooner Sports Properties, LLC, is the multimedia rights holder for athletics at the University of Oklahoma.
Sooner Sports Properties is a joint venture of Learfield Communications and Tyler Media, LLC.


Sooner Sports Powered by FOX Sports is a multi-platform network that provides distribution of 1,000+ hours of Sooner sports programming annually on a variety of FOX Sports outlets, including FOX Sports Oklahoma, FOX Sports Southwest, and FOX College Sports.