Softball Places Five on Big 12 Anniversary Team

Athletics Communications
By Athletics Communications
University of Oklahoma
MAY 03, 2006

NORMAN, Okla. The Big 12 Conference announced its softball 10th Anniversary Team Monday and Oklahoma led all Big 12 schools with five selections to the squad.  Former Sooners Lisa Carey, Christina Enea, Erin Evans, Ashli Barrett and Jennifer Stewart represented Oklahoma on the anniversary team.

Rounding out the entire team were infielders Jennifer Lizama (Nebraska) and Lindsay Gardner (Texas) while Nicole Trimboli (Nebraska) and Sandy Butler (Texas Tech) were selected as outfielders.  Peaches James (Nebraska) was the utility/designated player selection while Lauren Bay (Oklahoma State) and Cat Osterman (Texas) rounded out the pitchers.

Carey (1998-2001) and Enea (2002-05) highlighted the infield portion of the squad.  Carey, a three-time All-American and four-time All-Big 12 selection at first base, owns three different career offensive marks at OU and led the Sooners to the 2000 National Championship.

Enea, also an All-American at first base, was a three-time All-Midwest Region selection and a three-time All-Big 12 performer.  Enea led the Sooners to three consecutive trips to the Women’s College World Series while picking up WCWS All-Tournament team honors in 2004.

Evans, a center fielder for the Sooners from 2000-03, was a third-team All-American and a three-time All-Midwest Region selection.  As a three-time All-Big 12 performer, Evans played in four straight WCWS and was named the 2001 Regional Most Valuable Player.

Barrett was the lone catcher selected to the squad.  A two-time All-American for the Sooners from 1998-2001, she was a four-time All-Big 12 first team selection and holds top OU career marks in home runs and RBI.

Stewart, the 2000 WCWS Most Outstanding Player, pitched for the Sooners from 1999-2002 and owns the all-time winning percentage mark at OU.  Additionally, the lefty hurler owns top career marks in innings pitched, games started and victories at Oklahoma.  The two-time All-America selection was a three-time All-Midwest Region first team performer and a four-time All-Big 12 honoree.

The selections were made by a combined media panel.  In order to be eligible for consideration, candidates had to have been an All-Big 12 First Team selection.

Anniversary teams have been chosen for each conference sport during the 2005-06 season in celebration of the Big 12’s 10th anniversary.

Nearly 1,000 fans participated in the fan voting, which took place on the league web site at



Sooner Sports Properties, LLC, is the multimedia rights holder for athletics at the University of Oklahoma.
Sooner Sports Properties is a joint venture of Learfield Communications and Tyler Media, LLC.


Sooner Sports Powered by FOX Sports is a multi-platform network that provides distribution of 1,000+ hours of Sooner sports programming annually on a variety of FOX Sports outlets, including FOX Sports Oklahoma, FOX Sports Southwest, and FOX College Sports.