Sooners Set for Bobby Lane Invitational

Athletics Communications
By Athletics Communications
University of Oklahoma
MARCH 21, 2012

March 21, 2012

NORMAN, Okla. -- The University of Oklahoma track and field teams compete at the 36th annual Bobby Lane Invitational on Saturday, March 24, in Arlington, Texas. Thirty-three Sooners participate in 22 events during the meet held on the campus of UT-Arlington. Action begins Saturday at 9 a.m. CT with the women’s pole vault and concludes at 8:10 p.m. CT with the men’s 4x400-meter relay.

Bobby Lane Invitational | Saturday, March 24 | Live Results

Among OU’s 33 competitors include five who are set to see their first action of the season for the Sooners. Those athletes include Alexandra Acker, Annie Martin, Ti’Anca Mock, Robin Ray and Eric Cray. The group competing at the Lane Invitational includes 26 previous Big 12 outdoor scorers, five outdoor program record holders and four outdoor All-Americans.

Acker joins Jacy Bennett and Morgan Nichols in Saturday's first event, the women's pole vault. Jake Huddleston and Seth Lewandowski compete in the men's event following. Lewandowski is also scheduled to compete in the high jump, discus throw and 110-meter hurdles. Alex Madkins makes his season-debut in the long jump and 100-meter dash. Also competing in the men's 100-meter dash is Evan Pierson, Michael Ervin and Marcus Anderson. Pierson, Ervin and Anderson will run the 200-meter dash along with Wayne Walls and Ethan Baker.

Alisa Jenkins is OU's only competitor in the women's shot put, and Kristen Rice and Claire McConnell are scheduled to participate in the high jump. On the men's side, Christian Johnson and Landon Sharp join Lewandowski in the men's high jump. Walls will also compete in the triple jump.

Kelly Waters, Martin and Hilary Krein kick-off the women's track events in the 1,500-meter run scheduled for 2:05 p.m. CT. McConnell and Jenkins also run the 100-meter hurdles, and Tre Lathan and Nathaniel Winfrey run the men's 110-meter hurdles along with Lewandowski. Mock, Shawna Anderson and Sherine Wells run the women's 100-meter dash, and Mock, Wells and McConnell run the 200 later in the day.

Shelleyeka Rolle runs the women's 400-meter dash which proceeds the men's event where Jamel Wood, Cray and Matt Wicks compete. Molly Ferguson, Shakeeri Cole, Natalie Crain, Kelsey Brown and Ray are the last individual competitors for the Sooners in the women's 800-meter run at 5 p.m. CT. Oklahoma will run the men's and women's 4x100- and 4x400-meter relays, as well.

Following this weekend’s competition, the Sooners travel to Austin for the 85th annual Clyde Littlefield Texas Relays.



Sooner Sports Properties, LLC, is the multimedia rights holder for athletics at the University of Oklahoma.
Sooner Sports Properties is a joint venture of Learfield Communications and Tyler Media, LLC.


Sooner Sports Powered by FOX Sports is a multi-platform network that provides distribution of 1,000+ hours of Sooner sports programming annually on a variety of FOX Sports outlets, including FOX Sports Oklahoma, FOX Sports Southwest, and FOX College Sports.