Paris a Wade Trophy Finalist

Athletics Communications
By Athletics Communications
University of Oklahoma
MARCH 14, 2007

ATLANTA, Ga. - The State Farm Wade Trophy Committee along with the Women's Basketball Coaches Association (WBCA) and the National Association for Girls and Women in Sport (NAGWS) announced today the 12 finalists in contention for The State Farm Wade Trophy.

“These 12 student-athletes are each deserving of The State Farm Wade Trophy, considering their dedication to the institution, coach and teammates as a leader both on and off of the court,” said WBCA CEO, Beth Bass. “Any of these student-athletes would capture the essence of Lily Margaret Wade and would be deserving of this year’s award.”

The State Farm Wade Trophy Finalists:
Alison Bales - Duke
Jessica Davenport - Ohio State 
Sylvia Fowles - LSU 
Katie Gearlds - Purdue
Lindsey Harding - Duke
Crystal Langhorne - Maryland
Ivory Latta - North Carolina 
Courtney Paris -Oklahoma 
Candace Parker - Tennessee 
Bernice Mosby - Baylor 
Noelle Quinn - UCLA 
Candice Wiggins - Stanford University

The candidates were selected by a vote of committee members comprised of leading basketball coaches, journalists and basketball administrators. Members of the committee will select the winner of The State Farm Wade Trophy from the 10-member Division I Kodak/WBCA All-America Team and will be announced at the Kodak/WBCA All-America Team Press Conference and The State Farm Wade Trophy Announcement during the WBCA National Convention on Saturday, March 31, 2007, at 9:45 a.m. (ET).

"Congratulations to all of this year's State Farm Wade Trophy finalists,” said Mark D. Gibson, Assistant Vice President - Advertising at State Farm. "These student-athletes have displayed accomplishment on and off the court and this recognition is one step to them fulfilling the rest of their basketball dreams."

The State Farm Wade Trophy, now in its 30th year is named after the late, legendary three-time national champion Delta State University coach, Lily Margaret Wade.  This most prestigious award, regarded as “The Heisman of Women’s Basketball”, debuted in 1978 as the first-ever women's national player of the year award in college basketball.

Last year’s State Farm Wade Trophy recipient was Seimone Augustus (Louisiana State University), becoming the second State Farm Wade Trophy recipient to receive the award twice.  The other two-time recipient was Nancy Lieberman (1979 and 1980). The first recipient of the Wade Trophy was Carol Blazejowski of Montclair State in 1978. Other Wade Trophy/NCAA Division I Player of the Year recipients include many WNBA standouts such as Teresa Weatherspoon (1988), DeLisha Milton-Jones (1997), Ticha Penicheiro (1998), Sue Bird (2002) and Diana Taurasi (2003).



Sooner Sports Properties, LLC, is the multimedia rights holder for athletics at the University of Oklahoma.
Sooner Sports Properties is a joint venture of Learfield Communications and Tyler Media, LLC.


Sooner Sports Powered by FOX Sports is a multi-platform network that provides distribution of 1,000+ hours of Sooner sports programming annually on a variety of FOX Sports outlets, including FOX Sports Oklahoma, FOX Sports Southwest, and FOX College Sports.