Spates Named N.W.C.A Coach of the Year

Athletics Communications
By Athletics Communications
University of Oklahoma
MARCH 21, 2006

NORMAN, Okla. -- Oklahoma Wrestling head coach Jack Spates was awarded the N.W.C.A (National Wrestling Coaches Association) coach of the Year following the 2006 NCAA Championships.  Spates earns the honor for the first time in his career.

The Sooners finished the Big 12 dual portion of their schedule at 1-4 before making an impressive post-season showing.

The Sooners turned in a second place finish at the Big 12 Championships in Ames, Iowa, with Sam hazewinkel winning the 125-pound title and Teyon Ware, Matt Storniolo and Jake Hager all claiming second place finishes. In the process the Sooners qualified eight wrestlers for the NCAA Championships.

At the NCAA Championships the Sooners finished in third place behind Oklahoma State and Minnesota and Teyon Ware finished as the national runner-up (141).

Spates was named the 2002 Big 12 Coach of the Year and the 1999 Co-Big 12 Coach of the Year.

The National Wrestling Coaches Association, established in 1928, is a professional organization dedicated to serve and provide leadership for the advancement of all levels of the sport of wrestling with primary emphasis on scholastic and collegiate programs. The membership embraces all people interested in amateur wrestling.



Sooner Sports Properties, LLC, is the multimedia rights holder for athletics at the University of Oklahoma.
Sooner Sports Properties is a joint venture of Learfield Communications and Tyler Media, LLC.


Sooner Sports Powered by FOX Sports is a multi-platform network that provides distribution of 1,000+ hours of Sooner sports programming annually on a variety of FOX Sports outlets, including FOX Sports Oklahoma, FOX Sports Southwest, and FOX College Sports.