NCAA Baseball Tournament Announced

Athletics Communications
By Athletics Communications
University of Oklahoma
MAY 29, 2006

NORMAN, Okla. -- The NCAA Tournament 64-team field was announced on Monday and the University of Oklahoma baseball team will make its third consecutive appearance in the postseason and first as a No. 1 seed since the 1994 season, the last time the Sooners won the College World Series. 

The Sooners (40-19) are one of the 16 schools that will host a NCAA Regional in Norman at L. Dale Mitchell Park this weekend.

OU will meet No. 4 seed TCU (38-21), a team it defeated twice earlier this season, in the first round on Friday, June 2 at L. Dale Mitchell Park at 7 p.m. CST. 

Tickets Online | NCAA Regional Central | OU Quotes

Friday's first game at 1 p.m. will feature No. 2 seed Houston (39-20) against No. 3 seed Wichita State (44-20).

The winner between Oklahoma and TCU will face the Houston-Wichita State winner on Saturday at 7 p.m., while the first-game losers will square off at 1 p.m. on Saturday. All times are subject to change.

In its last appearance in the NCAA Tournament, OU was seeded third and lost to Mississippi in the Regional Championship game of the Oxford Regional.

Each of the four-team, double-elimination regionals will be played June 2-5. The winners of each regional will advance to the super regional round June 9-11.

The winner of the Norman, Okla., Regional advances to meet the winner of the Houston, Texas, Regional in NCAA Super Regional action.  The four teams at Houston are Rice, Arizona State, Baylor and Prarie View A&M.

Since the NCAA expanded the field to 64 teams in 1999, OU has not advanced to a Super Regional.  The eight winners of the super regionals will play in the College World Series, beginning June 16 at Rosenblatt Stadium in Omaha, Neb.

Tickets for the Norman Regional, which will be held at L. Dale Mitchell Park, can be obtained through the OU Athletics Ticket Office by visiting and the main office will be open on Tuesday morning at 8 a.m.  Reserved seats for the regional are sold out, but general admission seating still remains.  For more information, call the OU Athletics Ticket Office at (800) 456-4668. 

2006 NCAA Norman Regional Schedule Time (CT)
Game 1:  No. 3 Wichita State vs. No. 2 Houston  1 p.m.
Game 2:  No. 4 TCU vs. No. 1 Oklahoma 7 p.m.

Game 3:  Game 2 Loser vs. Game 1 Loser 1 p.m.

Game 4:  Game 1 Winner vs. Game 2 Winner

7 p.m.

Game 5:  Game 3 Winner vs. Game 4 Loser 1 p.m.
Game 6:  Game 5 Winner vs. Game 4 Winner 7 p.m.

Game 7:  Game 6 Winner vs. Game 6 Loser (*if necessary)     7 p.m.

* all times subject to change



Sooner Sports Properties, LLC, is the multimedia rights holder for athletics at the University of Oklahoma.
Sooner Sports Properties is a joint venture of Learfield Communications and Tyler Media, LLC.


Sooner Sports Powered by FOX Sports is a multi-platform network that provides distribution of 1,000+ hours of Sooner sports programming annually on a variety of FOX Sports outlets, including FOX Sports Oklahoma, FOX Sports Southwest, and FOX College Sports.