Eight Sooners Named to All-Big 12 Teams

Athletics Communications
By Athletics Communications
University of Oklahoma
MAY 25, 2006

OKLAHOMA CITY -- The Big 12 Conference announced its annual All-Big 12 Team, as voted on by the league’s coaches, on Thursday before day two of the Phillips 66 Big 12 Championship got underway and eight University of Oklahoma (39-18, 17-10) baseball players were honored.

It marked the fourth time in program history that OU, who recorded the most regular season wins this year since 1989 (42), has placed eight or more members on the Big 12 teams (1998, 2004 and 2005).  Seven Sooners were honored on the second team and one player was named honorable mention.  For just the second time in Big 12 history, a player from Oklahoma was not named to the first team.

Big 12 Championship Central

Oklahoma seniors Chuckie Caufield (OF), Steven Guerra (SP), Daniel McCutchen (SP), Ryan Rohlinger (3B), Russell Raley (2B) and Kevin Smith (1B) and sophomore Aaron Reza (utility) were named to the All-Big 12 Second Team, while sophomore Jackson Williams (C) received honorable mention. 

“The coaching staff is extremely proud of the individual efforts of these eight student athletes throughout the season,” said OU head coach Sunny Golloway.  “But more importantly, we are proud of the fact that these guys have always put the team and its accomplishments first and that is evident when you look at the success we have enjoyed on the field this season.”

McCutchen, Rohlinger and Raley have been selections on the coaches’ team for the past two years while Smith was an honorable mention last season. Caufield, Guerra, Reza and Williams are making their first appearances on the conference’s honoree list. 

The No. 13 Oklahoma Sooners, who resume play in the Phillips 66 Big 12 Championship on Friday at 5 p.m. against Missouri, were also well represented in the media outlets across the Big 12.  Below is a look at the All-Big 12 selections released earlier this week:

Fort Worth Star Telegram
Chuckie Caufield (OF) - First Team
Jackson Williams (C) - Second Team
Kevin Smith (1B) - Second Team
Ryan Rohlinger (3B) - Second Team
Steven Guerra (SP) - Second Team

Austin American Statesman
Kevin Smith (1B) - First Team
Aaron Reza (2B) - First Team
Ryan Rohlinger (3B) - Second Team
Chuckie Caufield (OF) - Second Team
Steven Guerra (SP) - Second Team
Daniel McCutchen (SP) - Second Team
Will Savage (RP) - Second Team

Oklahoman All-Big 12 Team
Kevin Smith (1B)
Chuckie Caufield (Utility)

Dallas Morning News
Kevin Smith (1B) - First Team
Ryan Rohlinger (3B) - First Team (Utility)
Freddy Rodriguez (SS) - Second Team
Chuckie Caufield (OF) - Second Team
Daniel McCutchen (SP) - Second Team

San Antonio Express News
Russell Raley (2B) - First Team
Chuckie Caufield (OF) - Second Team
Steven Guerra (SP) - Second Team





Sooner Sports Properties, LLC, is the multimedia rights holder for athletics at the University of Oklahoma.
Sooner Sports Properties is a joint venture of Learfield Communications and Tyler Media, LLC.


Sooner Sports Powered by FOX Sports is a multi-platform network that provides distribution of 1,000+ hours of Sooner sports programming annually on a variety of FOX Sports outlets, including FOX Sports Oklahoma, FOX Sports Southwest, and FOX College Sports.