OU Gymnasts Look For Fourth National Crown

Athletics Communications
By Athletics Communications
University of Oklahoma
APRIL 05, 2002

April 5, 2002

NORMAN, Okla. - After recording its third highest score of the season in the qualifying round of the team event on Thursday, the Oklahoma men's gymnastics team will compete for its fourth national title tonight at 7 p.m. at the Lloyd Noble Center. The other competitors include Ohio State, Michigan, Iowa, Standord and California.

In the qualifying rounds of competition on Thursday, the Sooners topped the field with a 218.925 followed by California (217.200), Ohio State (215.375), Michigan (214.075), Stanford (214.000) and Iowa (213.800).

Individuals that finished in the top three on Thursday that either weren't on a qualifying team or an all-arounder, will also compete tonight for the individual finals on Saturday.

Tickets are available at the Lloyd Noble Center box office. Adult admission is $8 and children 12 and under are admitted for $4. The individual finals will be held at 7 p.m. on Saturday, April 6, to conclude championship competition.

Friday Rotations
1-6Ohio StateV, PB, HB, FX, PH, R
7All-AroundClay Strother (Minnesota)
8IndividualV - Josh Rasile (Nebraska)
PB - J.G. Ketchen (Illinois)
HB - Bob Rogers (Illinois)
FX - Bob Rogers (Illinois)
PH - Bob Rogers (Illinois)
R - J.G. Ketchen (Illinois)

1-6MichiganPB, HB, FX, PH, R, V
7All-AroundGuillermo Alvarez (Minnesota)
8IndividualPB - Travis Kitchen (Temple)
HB - Ed Seward (Illinois)
FX - Sean-Paul Crawford (Illinois)
PH - Bob Goss (Minn.)
R - Sean-Paul Crawford (Illinois)
V - Tim Koehler (Minnesota)

1-6StanfordHB, FX, PH, R, V, PB
7All-AroundEric Steele (Minnesota)
8IndividualHB - Bill Callahan (Minnesota)
FX - John Robella (Army)
PH - Peter Shostchuk (Illinois)
R - Nyika White (Temple)
V - Theodore Maes (Temple)
PB - Peter Shostchuk (Illinois)

1-6OklahomaFX, PH, R, V, PB, HB
7All-AroundKevin Donohue (Penn State)
8IndividualFX - Zack Roeder (Penn State)
PH - Zack Roeder (Penn State)
R - Kevin Tan (Penn State)
V - Neil Faustino (Illinois-Chicago)
PB - Kevin Tan (Penn State)
HB - Kevin Tan (Penn State)

1-6Iowa PH, R, V, PB, HB, FX
7All-AroundDarren Morace (Massachusetts)
8IndividualPH - Matt Abbound (Penn State)
R - John Chasse (Springfield)
V - Paul DiPalma (William & Mary)
PB - Matt Abboud (Penn State)
HB - Don Mahr (California-Santa Barbara)
FX - Clayton Kent (Massachusetts)

1-6CaliforniaR, V, PB, HB, FX, PH
7All-AroundPatrick McFarlin (Massachusetts)
8IndividualR - Kyle Fernandez (Penn State)
V - Steven Friedman (Nebraska)
PB - Steven Friedman (Nebraska)
HB - Ben Jacobs (Massachusetts)
FX - Steve Tobin (Penn State)
PH - Jerker Taudien (Penn State)



Sooner Sports Properties, LLC, is the multimedia rights holder for athletics at the University of Oklahoma.
Sooner Sports Properties is a joint venture of Learfield Communications and Tyler Media, LLC.


Sooner Sports Powered by FOX Sports is a multi-platform network that provides distribution of 1,000+ hours of Sooner sports programming annually on a variety of FOX Sports outlets, including FOX Sports Oklahoma, FOX Sports Southwest, and FOX College Sports.