Caufield Semi-Finalist for POY Award

Athletics Communications
By Athletics Communications
University of Oklahoma
MAY 22, 2006

NORMAN, Okla. -- Senior Chuckie Caufield (.364, 7 HR, 40 RBI, 18 SB) joined a field of 30 players that will look to win the 2006 Brooks Wallace College Player of the Year Award this July. 

The initial list, which included OU's Steven Guerra, was reduced to the top thirty semi-finalists on Monday, as announced by the College Baseball Foundation in Lubbock, TX.  The Wallace Award is presented annually to the nation’s top collegiate baseball player.

Caufield currently ranks in the Big 12's top ten in batting average, hits, runs, doubles, stolen bases, total bases and on-base percentage.  The Ada, Okla., native and the rest of the Sooners open play in the 2006 Phillips 66 Big 12 Championship on Wednesday at 5 p.m. versus Kansas at the AT&T Bricktown Ballpark in Oklahoma City.

The selection committee will slash the list to three finalists following the NCAA Super Regionals and make that announcement in Omaha on Thursday, June 15, 2005. 
The finalists, their head coaches and parents will be invited to Lubbock, where they will participate in a two-day celebration of college baseball on July 3-4, which will feature the theme The Past Meets Present’.   The Wallace Trophy and winners will become part of the permanent display in the new College Baseball Hall of Fame in Lubbock. 
The three finalists will also meet the Inaugural 2006 College Baseball Hall of Fame Class who will be recognized during the ceremony and enshrined during the Official Induction Ceremonies the following afternoon on Tuesday, July 4th.

The annual award banquet will be held on Monday, July 3rd at 7 p.m. and hosted at the United Spirit Arena on the campus of Texas Tech University.  Information regarding the sale of individual tickets, as well as group and corporate tables to the VIP event, is available by calling (806) 723-8232 or via the College Baseball Foundation website:

Dedicated to the memory of the former Texas Tech player and assistant coach, Wallace was a slick-fielding shortstop at Texas Tech from 1977 to 1980. A four-year starter, he was named All-Southwest Conference and All-District Six his senior year, when he led the Red Raiders to their first-ever appearance in the Southwest Conference Tournament. 
After playing two years in the Texas Rangers organization, he returned to Texas Tech and served as a graduate assistant, and later as an assistant coach. 
In the summer of 1984 he was diagnosed with cancer and fought the disease courageously until his death on March 24, 1985, at age 27.  The Plano, Texas, native was married to the former Sandy Arnold and they had one daughter, Lindsay Ryan. 

The selection committee for the Wallace Award is comprised of a select national panel of coaches, sports information directors, former winners and beat media (print, radio and television) who most closely follow the sport on a daily basis. 
The Wallace Award is the only major collegiate honor of its’ type that tracks the nominees through the entire season, from first pitch through the completion of the NCAA College World Series.  Final balloting will conclude at Midnight, July 1st.  Voting for the Wallace Award winner will be conducted by confidential balloting, with totals tabulated by the J.W.Anderson & Associates accounting firm in Lubbock, TX.

Kurt Suzuki of Cal State Fullerton won the 2004 Brooks Wallace Award with Alex Gordon of Nebraska taking home the 2005 trophy.  The awards’ lineage includes former Player of the Year winners Andy Benes, Ben McDonald, Mike Kelly, Bobby Jones, Mike Smith, Darren Dreifort, Jason Varitek, Mark Kotsay, Kris Benson, Lance Berkman, Brad Wilkerson and Jason Jennings. 

The one-hour Wallace Award presentation will debut on Fox Sports Southwest, on Saturday, July 8th at 3 p.m. (CDT), and will be carried nationally by FSN affiliates such as Sun Network, Fox Sports Southeast, FSN Arizona, FSN Northwest and FSN West, among others.  Fox College Sports networks (Atlantic, Central and Pacific) will also air the program during July.  Exact times, dates and additional clearances around the country will be updated, as they are made available. 

2006 Wallace Award Semi-Finalists
Emeel Salem, 3B, Jr., Alabama
Sean Doolittle, P-ATH, So., Virginia
Shane Robinson, OF, Jr., Florida State
Wes Roemer, P, So., Cal State Fullerton
Kellen Kulbacki, OF, So., James Madison        
Tim Lincecum, P, Jr., Washington
Drew Stubbs, OF, Jr., Texas                            
Andrew Miller, P, Jr., North Carolina
Joe Savery, P-ATH, So., Rice                          
Nick Schmidt, P, So., Arkansas
Matt Weiters, C-ATH, Jr., Georgia Tech             
Heath Rollins, P-ATH, Jr., Winthrop
Luke Gorsett, OF, Jr., Nebraska                       
Tom King, SS, Jr., Troy
Ryan Strieby, 1B, Jr., Kentucky                        
Eddie Degerman, P, Jr., Rice
Chad Tracy, C, Jr. Pepperdine                          
Craig Cooper, 1B, Sr., Notre Dame
Tyler Mach, 3B, Jr., Oklahoma State                 
Matt McBride, C, So., Lehigh
Andy Alessio, 1B, Jr., Clemson                         
Steven Wright, P, Jr., Hawai’i
Brad Lincoln, P-ATH, Jr., Houston                    
Josh Morris, 1B, Jr., Georgia
Cole Gilliespie, OF, Jr., Oregon State               
Scott Cousins, OF/P, Jr., San Francisco
Chuckie Caufield, OF, Sr., Oklahoma               
Matt Dobbins, P-ATH, So., Jacksonville
Ronnie Bourquin, 3B, Jr., Ohio State               
Beau Mills, 3B, So., Fresno State 



Sooner Sports Properties, LLC, is the multimedia rights holder for athletics at the University of Oklahoma.
Sooner Sports Properties is a joint venture of Learfield Communications and Tyler Media, LLC.


Sooner Sports Powered by FOX Sports is a multi-platform network that provides distribution of 1,000+ hours of Sooner sports programming annually on a variety of FOX Sports outlets, including FOX Sports Oklahoma, FOX Sports Southwest, and FOX College Sports.