Four OU Women Golfers Named to Academic All-Big 12 Team

Athletics Communications
By Athletics Communications
University of Oklahoma
APRIL 20, 2004

NORMAN, Okla. -- Four members of the University of Oklahoma women’s golf team were honored by the Big 12 Conference for their success in the classroom and on the golf course. Senior Hope Edge, junior Emily Milberger and sophomore Amparo Gala were named first-team Academic All-Big 12 selections. Senior Lisa Meldrum was honored as a second-team Academic All-Big 12 member.

Edge, a communications major, has been on the academic all-conference team four consecutive years. It marks Meldrum’s third honor and Milberger’s second. Meldrum is majoring in sociology while Milberger is majoring in marketing. Gala, a microbiology major, earned the academic honor for the first time in her career.

"I am extremely proud of these girls," head coach Carol Ludvigson said. "They are model student-athletes because they have high expectations both academically and athletically. They all have great character and are great ambassadors of the University."

In order to be named to the first team, the student-athletes must have maintained a 3.20 GPA and have participated in 60 percent of her team’s scheduled contests. The criteria remains the same for the second team except that the GPA must be between a 3.00 and 3.19. Freshman and transfers are not eligible in their first year of academic residence.

The Sooners will begin competition at the eighth annual Big 12 Conference Women’s Golf Championship April 23-25 at the Pebble Creek Country Club in College Station, Texas.




Sooner Sports Properties, LLC, is the multimedia rights holder for athletics at the University of Oklahoma.
Sooner Sports Properties is a joint venture of Learfield Communications and Tyler Media, LLC.


Sooner Sports Powered by FOX Sports is a multi-platform network that provides distribution of 1,000+ hours of Sooner sports programming annually on a variety of FOX Sports outlets, including FOX Sports Oklahoma, FOX Sports Southwest, and FOX College Sports.