Sooners Clean Up at College Football Awards

Athletics Communications
By Athletics Communications
University of Oklahoma

ATLANTA – The University of Oklahoma football program is heading back to Norman with plenty of hardware in hand after Thursday night's Home Depot College Football Awards in Atlanta.

Senior quarterback Baker Mayfield took home the Walter Camp Player of the Year Award and the Maxwell Award, both of which are given to the nation's top player, as well as the Davey O' Brien Award, which goes to the top quarterback. Meanwhile, junior tight end Mark Andrews was presented with the John Mackey Award for the nation's most outstanding end, which was previously announced Wednesday.

In addition, Mayfield, Andrews, junior offensive lineman Orlando Brown and senior linebacker Ogbonnia Okoronkwo were all named first-team All-Americans by the Walter Camp Foundation. That squad was unveiled during the show.

Mayfield is the third Sooner to win the Maxwell Award, joining Jason White (2004) and Tommy McDonald (1956), and the fifth Sooner to be named Walter Camp Player of the Year, along with Josh Heupel (2000), Billy Sims (1978), Steve Owens (1969) and Jerry Tubbs (1956).

The O'Brien Award was initially given to the top player in the Southwest before going to a quarterback-only honor in 1981. As a result, Mayfield is the fourth Sooner to take home the award, joining Sam Bradford (2008), White (2003, '04) and Sims (1978).

Named the AP Player of the Year earlier Thursday, Mayfield leads the nation in completion percentage (.710), passing efficiency rating (203.8; would break his own FBS record of 196.4 set last year), yards per pass attempt (11.8), yards per completion (16.6) and pass of plays of 20-plus yards (75). He also ranks second in passing touchdowns (41), third in total offense (357.7 ypg) and fourth in passing yards (333.8 per game).

The Austin, Texas, native has completed 262-of-369 passes this year for a career-high 4,340 yards and 41 touchdowns to just five interceptions. He has also rushed for 310 yards and another five scores with no fumbles lost.

Named the first Mackey Award winner in program history Wednesday, Andrews leads the nation's tight ends with his 906 receiving yards and receiving yards per game (69.7), and is second in yards per catch (15.6), third in receptions (58) and sixth in touchdown receptions (eight). He leads the Sooners in receptions with his 58 catches, the third-highest total ever by an OU tight end and the 22nd-highest mark overall, and eight touchdown receptions.

A native of Houston, Texas, Okoronkwo ranks third in the Big 12 and is tied for 25th nationally with 8.0 sacks (0.6 per game), ranks second in the Big 12 and tied for 17th nationally with three forced fumbles, and ranks third in the league and 12th nationally with 17.5 tackles for loss (1.4 per game).