Sooners Sweep ITA Tennis Awards

Athletics Communications
By Athletics Communications
University of Oklahoma
MAY 13, 2014

NORMAN, Okla. – Oklahoma’s tennis transcendence continued to be noticed nationally as seven Sooners were recognized with Intercollegiate Tennis Association region awards, the governing body announced Tuesday.

Oklahoma earned a clean sweep of the men’s and women’s Wilson/ITA Central Region Coach of the Year, ITA Assistant Coach of the Year and ITA Senior Player of the Year honors.

Additionally, freshman Andrew Harris was named the men’s ITA Central Region Rookie Player of the Year. It's the third straight year a Sooner has won the award.

OU men’s head coach John Roddick earned his second coach of the year award after earning the same in 2012. Roddick’s Sooners face Kentucky in the NCAA Sweet 16 Friday as the No. 2 overall seed in the national tournament. In his fifth season, Roddick earned his 100th win with Oklahoma’s NCAA Second Round victory.

OU women’s head coach David Mullins delivered the Sooners best year in program history as they reached a program-best No. 14 ranking before being knocked of out the NCAA Championships in the second round.

Assistants Bo Hodge (men’s ) and Cristina Moros (women’s), both in their third seasons at Oklahoma, were honored for the first time in their careers. Moros was recently promoted to associate head coach.

The coaching awards cannot be won by the same person in consecutive seasons.

Guillermo Alcorta, ranked by the ITA as the No. 5 men’s singles player, was the Big 12 Conference position champion at No. 2 singles and an All-Big 12 Team member in both singles and doubles.

Oklahoma City native Whitney Ritchie finished her career with three Big 12 position championships in doubles and six All-Big 12 Team selections in addition to teaming with Hermon Brhane for ITA All-America Doubles honors last season.

2014 ITA Central Region Award Winners
John Roddick, Wilson/ITA Coach of the Year
Bo Hodge, ITA Assistant Coach of the Year
Guillermo Alcorta, ITA Senior Player of the Year
Andrew Harris, ITA Rookie Player of the Year 

David Mullins, Wilson/ITA Coach of the Year
Cristina Moros, ITA Assistant Coach of the Year
Whitney Ritchie, ITA Senior Player of the Year 



Sooner Sports Properties, LLC, is the multimedia rights holder for athletics at the University of Oklahoma.
Sooner Sports Properties is a joint venture of Learfield Communications and Tyler Media, LLC.


Sooner Sports Powered by FOX Sports is a multi-platform network that provides distribution of 1,000+ hours of Sooner sports programming annually on a variety of FOX Sports outlets, including FOX Sports Oklahoma, FOX Sports Southwest, and FOX College Sports.