Josh Heupel
Co-Offensive Coordinator
Football Coaching Staff

Josh Heupel

Successfully integrated additional QB run game concepts into an Oklahoma offensive arsenal that already included a potent passing game in 2013. Despite three different QBs seeing action over the course of the season, the Sooners registered an 11-2 campaign culminating with a 45-31 win over Alabama in the Sugar Bowl.

With Heupel calling the signals of a balanced OU offensive attack in 2013, the Sooners led the Big 12 by averaging 223.9 rushing ypg, the best output by Oklahoma since 1991. OU averaged 423.0 ypg of total offense in 2013, marking the seventh straight year the Sooners topped the 400-yard barrier.

Heupel navigated between QBs Trevor Knight and Blake Bell, who both came up big for the squad in 2013. Bell guided OU to road wins at Notre Dame (9/28/13) and at Oklahoma State (12/7/13), while Knight earned MVP honors in the Sugar Bowl, throwing for 348 yards, while tying a Sugar Bowl record with four TD passes.

Oklahoma finished the 2013 campaign with a +9 turnover differential and was +72 in points off turnovers in 2013, while also leading the Big 12 in time of possession (32:18).

OU ranked fifth in the nation in passing (336.5 ypg) and 12th in total offense (497.9 ypg) in 2012 as Landry Jones became the Big 12’s all-time leader in passing yards and total offense.

In 2011, his OU unit finished fourth nationally in both total offense (512.3 ypg) and passing offense (349.4 ypg). Jones ranked third in the nation in total offense in 2011 after finishing second in the nation in passing yards in 2010 when he won the Sammy Baugh Award. Jones led all FBS freshman with 26 TDs after Sam Bradford was lost to injury in the 2009 season opener.

Tutored Bradford, who won the Heisman, Davey O’Brien and Sammy Baugh Awards, after throwing for 4,720 yards and 50 TDs with just eight INTs in 2008. Bradford led the nation in passing efficiency. He presided over the highest scoring offense ever and an NCAA-record string of five straight 60-point games.

In 2007, Bradford led the nation in passing efficiency (176.5) and set NCAA freshman record with 36 TD passes. He made four All-America freshman teams and was a finalist for the Manning Award.

Coached Paul Thompson, who, after finding out one day before fall camp that he would play QB, piloted OU to an 11-3 mark in 2006.

Coached tight ends at Arizona in 2005. The top two combined for 31 receptions for 346 yards and eight TDs. Brad Wood led the Wildcats with six touchdowns.

Helped Oklahoma to the 2004 (Sugar Bowl) and 2005 (Orange Bowl) national championship games as a G.A.

Founded The 14 Foundation, a non-profit organization that serves underprivileged children throughout Oklahoma.

 Coach Heupel
 Hometown  Aberdeen, S.D.
 High School  Aberdeen Central, 1995
 College  Oklahoma, 2001
 Family  wife, Dawn
 daughter, Hannah
 son, Jace

 Coaching History
 2011-Present - Oklahoma
 Co-Offensive Coordinator, Quarterbacks
 2005 - Arizona
 Tight Ends
 2004 - Oklahoma
 Graduate Assistant

 Bowl Games Coached (11)
 2014 Sugar  Oklahoma
 2013 Cotton  Oklahoma
 2011 Insight  Oklahoma
 2011 Fiesta  Oklahoma
 2009 Sun  Oklahoma
 2009 BCS Championship  Oklahoma
 2008 Fiesta  Oklahoma
 2007 Fiesta  Oklahoma
 2005 Holiday  Oklahoma
 2005 Orange  Oklahoma
 2004 Sugar  Oklahoma

In 2000, he was the 2000 Heisman Trophy runner-up, Walter Camp Award winner, Associated Press Player of the Year, 2000 and CBS Player of the Year, 2000.
Led OU to 2000 national championship.
OU's first consensus All-America quarterback, and first Oklahoma QB since 1971 to earn All-America honors.
Eighty percent winning percentage with a 20-5 mark.
Passed for 7,456 yards and 53 touchdowns in career.
Oklahoma career top three in passing yards, completions and touchdown passes despite playing just two seasons.
2001 NFL draft, sixth round, Miami Dolphins.
Trevor Knight (Oklahoma), 2014 Sugar Bowl MVP
Landry Jones (Oklahoma), 2010 Sammy Baugh Award Winner
Sam Bradford (Oklahoma), Rams, 2008 Heisman Trophy Winner, No. 1 NFL Draft Pick
Jason White (Oklahoma), 2003 Heisman Trophy Winner