Cuellar Named Big 12 Offensive POY

Athletics Communications
By Athletics Communications
University of Oklahoma
OCTOBER 29, 2012
NORMAN, Okla.-- Oklahoma soccer senior forward Renae Cuellar garnered Big 12 Conference Offensive Player of the Year honors, as voted on by the league's head coaches.

Cuellar, who became the first student-athlete in the 16-year history of the OU soccer program to garner such distinction, also earned spots on the All-Big 12 First Team and Big 12 All-Newcomer Team.

"For Renae to have a final season to remember is testament to her determination and drive," said first-year OU head coach Matt Potter. "I'm sure she would be the first to thank the contribution of her teammates in accepting the awards. To be recognized around the conference by the other coaches speaks to her true endeavor, contribution and performances this fall. I am delighted for Renae. She deserves the applause both from within and afar. I'm not surprised and am very proud of her. Hopefully, the journey continues this week and beyond."

The La Puente, Calif., native leads the Sooners with 26 points from a team-high 12 goals, which ranks as the third-most in a single season in Oklahoma history. Her 13 points from six goals in eight Big 12 matches paces the conference.

Cuellar, who was named Big 12 Newcomer of the Week twice this season, earned national honors when she was named Disney Soccer/National Soccer Coaches Association of America (NSCAA) Player of the Week after scoring game-winning goals against Kansas and TCU.

Oklahoma (7-8-4, 3-3-2) enters the 2012 Big 12 Championships as the fifth seed and is set for a Red River Rivalry showdown against fourth-seeded Texas (7-10-1, 4-4) Wednesday, Oct. 31, in the conference tournament's first round at Blossom Soccer Stadium in San Antonio, Texas. First touch is scheduled for 11:30 a.m. CT. For tickets to the 2012 Big 12 Soccer Championship, visit or call (210) 820-2100.


Coach of the Year: Nikki Izzo-Brown, West Virginia
Offensive Player of the Year: Renae Cuellar, F, Oklahoma, Sr., La Puente, Calif.
Defensive Player of the Year: Bry McCarthy, D, West Virginia, Sr., Ajax, Ontario
Rookie of the Year: Janine Beckie, F, Texas Tech, Fr., Highlands Ranch, Colo.|

(Coaches are not allowed to vote for their own players or themself)


Pos. Name Team Year Hometown
GK Adrianna Franch Oklahoma State Sr. Salina, Kan.
D Bry McCarthy West Virginia Sr. Ajax, Ontario
D Jaelene Hinkle Texas Tech So. Denver, Colo.
D Morgan Johnson Texas Tech Sr. Arlington, Texas
MF Whitney Berry Kansas Sr. Wichita, Kan.
MF Bri Rodriguez West Virginia Sr. Aurora, Ill.
MF Paige Strahan Texas Tech So. Odessa, Texas
F Renae Cuellar Oklahoma Sr. LaPuente, Calif.
F Kate Schwindel West Virginia So. Livingston, N.J.
F Janine Beckie Texas Tech Fr. Highlands Ranch, Colo.
U Kristin Cummins Texas Sr. Lewisville, Texas


Pos. Name Team Year Hometown
GK Abby Smith Texas Fr. Plano, Texas
D Carlie Davis Baylor Sr. Dallas, Texas
D Kat Ludlow Baylor Jr. Colleyville, Texas
D Carson Michalowski Oklahoma State Sr. Plano, Texas
MF Sharis Lachappelle Texas So. San Antonio, Texas
MF Jamie Fletcher Kansas So. Albuquerque, N.M.
MF Madison Mercado Oklahoma State Fr. Sapulpa, Okla.
F Frances Silva West Virginia Jr. Overland Park,Kan.
F Dana Larsen Baylor Sr. Mequon, Wis.
F Megan Marchesano Oklahoma State Sr. Tulsa, Okla.
U Caroline Kastor Kansas Jr. Wichita, Kan.
U Jennifer Dominguez Iowa State Jr. Lubbock, Texas

(A tie at the utility position created an additional member on the All-Big 12 Second Team)


Pos. Name Team Year Hometown
GK Abby Smith* Texas Fr. Plano, Texas
D Leah Emaus West Virginia Fr. Webster, N.Y.
D Ali Schmalz Texas Fr. Hoffman Estates, Ill.
D Bobbi Clemmer TCU Fr. Decatur, Texas
D Katie Daigle Baylor Fr. Lewisville, Texas
D Kelsey Bass Oklahoma State Fr. Dallas, Texas
MF Sharis Lachappelle Texas So. San Antonio, Texas
MF Bri Campos Baylor Fr. Centennial, Colo.
MF Kara Blosser West Virginia Jr. Spotsylvania, Va.
MF Madison Mercado Oklahoma State Fr. Sapulpa, Okla.
F Janine Beckie* Texas Tech Fr. Highlands Ranch, Colo.
F Renae Cuellar* Oklahoma Sr. La Puente, Calif.
F Ashley Williams Kansas Fr. Albuquerque, N.M.
U Kelsie Maloney West Virginia Fr. Harrisburg, Pa.
U Lindsey Meyer Texas Fr. Coppell, Texas

(Ties in voting created additional members on the All-Big 12 Newcomer Team)
* - Unanimous selection



Sooner Sports Properties, LLC, is the multimedia rights holder for athletics at the University of Oklahoma.
Sooner Sports Properties is a joint venture of Learfield Communications and Tyler Media, LLC.


Sooner Sports Powered by FOX Sports is a multi-platform network that provides distribution of 1,000+ hours of Sooner sports programming annually on a variety of FOX Sports outlets, including FOX Sports Oklahoma, FOX Sports Southwest, and FOX College Sports.