Coale Selected for Women's Basketball HOF

Athletics Communications
By Athletics Communications
University of Oklahoma
JULY 24, 2015
[Click to Enlarge]
Living Legend

NORMAN — Oklahoma head women's basketball coach Sherri Coale is among six members of the Women's Basketball Hall of Fame Class of 2016. Joining Coale in the 18th group of inductees into the Hall of Fame on June 11, 2016, will be June Corteau (contributor), Joe Lombard (coach), Jackie Stiles (player), Bill Tipps (contributor, posthumously) and Natalie Williams (player).

The Class of 2016 will be inducted into the Women's Basketball Hall of Fame in Knoxville, Tenn. With the induction of the six new members, the Hall of Fame will have 151 total honorees.

In 19 years at Oklahoma, Coale has posted a 420-206 (.671) record and won 10 Big 12 championships (six regular season, four tournament). A four-time Big 12 Coach of the Year, Coale has led her teams to 16 consecutive NCAA Tournament appearances, the sixth longest current streak in the nation. The Sooners have earned three Final Four berths under her leadership (2002, 2009, 2010) and have participated in nine Sweet 16s.

In total, Coale has coached four first-team All-Americans, six Big 12 Players of the Year and 14 WNBA Draft selections. Her players have also consistently achieved in the classroom, with 14 of them being named Academic All-Americans and 51 earning 102 Academic All-Big 12 honors under her direction.

In addition to the Class of 2016, the WBHOF will recognize the 1996 U.S. Olympic Team for its contributions to the game in a display at the Hall entitled "Trailblazers of the Game." The 1996 U.S. Olympic Team will join the All American Red Heads, Edmonton Grads, the Former Helms/Citizens Savings/Founders Bank, the 1976 U.S. Olympic Team, the 1972-74 Immaculata Mighty Macs and the Wayland Baptist Flying Queens as the only seven groups recognized as "Trailblazers of the Game." The 1996 Olympic team has produced 10 Women's Basketball Hall of Fame inductees.

The Women's Basketball Hall of Fame's Board of Directors serves as the selection committee in determining which individuals will be inducted each year and which groups will be honored as "Trailblazers of the Game." Voting is based on minimum candidate requirements, which include record of performance, national or international recognition, and contributions to the game of women's basketball.

For more information on the WBHOF Induction Ceremony, please visit

Women's Basketball Hall of Fame - Class of 2016
Sherri Coale (Coach)
Coale is currently the head coach for the University of Oklahoma. She has guided Oklahoma to a 420-206 record in 19 years, including 16 consecutive NCAA Tournament appearances and three Women's Final Four berths. Coale has guided her teams to six Big 12 regular season championships and four Big 12 tournament titles. She has been named Big 12 Coach of the Year four times.

June Courteau (Contributor)
Courteau has 45 years of experience in women's basketball officiating. She officiated WNBA games from 1997-2011, including 13 WNBA Finals and two WNBA All-Star games. Courteau also officiated in 12 NCAA Women's Final Fours, including five national championship games. She was the 1989 Naismith Official of the Year and 1990 Atlantic Coast Conference Official of the Year.

Joe Lombard (Coach)
Lombard has guided Nazareth and Canyon High Schools to 17 state championships. In 37 years of coaching girls high school basketball, he has led his teams to an overall record of 1,165-109. Lombard reached 1,000 wins before losing 100 games. He was named the 2003 USA Today Coach of the Year and the WBCA Coach of the Year. He was inducted into the Texas Basketball Hall of Fame in 2007.

Jackie Stiles (Player)
Stiles became the first and only Division I women's basketball player to score more than 1,000 points in a single season. She is the all-time leading scorer in Division I women's basketball with 3,393 points while at Missouri State University (formerly Southwest Missouri State University). Stiles was named a 2001 Kodak All-American and received the 2001 Wade Trophy award. She was named the 2001 WNBA Rookie of the Year.

Bill Tipps (Contributor)
Tipps served as a member of the USA Women's Basketball Games Committee. From 1988-1996, he was a member of Staff Selection Sub-Committee of USA Basketball. From 1979-1991, Tipps served as the Chairman of AAU Girls Basketball. He was a 1987 President's National Leadership Award honoree. Tipps was inducted into the AAU Volunteer Hall of Fame in 1991.

Natalie Williams (Player)
Williams was a two-time Kodak All-American while at the University of California Los Angeles. She was the first woman to earn All-America honors in both basketball and volleyball in the same year. Williams was a three-time All-WNBA first-team selection and a three-time WNBA All-Star. She helped guide USA Basketball to the 2000 Olympic gold medal.



Sooner Sports Properties, LLC, is the multimedia rights holder for athletics at the University of Oklahoma.
Sooner Sports Properties is a joint venture of Learfield Communications and Tyler Media, LLC.


Sooner Sports Powered by FOX Sports is a multi-platform network that provides distribution of 1,000+ hours of Sooner sports programming annually on a variety of FOX Sports outlets, including FOX Sports Oklahoma, FOX Sports Southwest, and FOX College Sports.