Coale Inducted Into Women's Basketball Hall of Fame

Athletics Communications
By Athletics Communications
University of Oklahoma
JUNE 11, 2016

KNOXVILLE, Tenn. – University of Oklahoma women’s basketball head coach Sherri Coale was officially inducted into the Women’s Basketball Hall of Fame Saturday night in a ceremony at the Tennessee Theatre.

In 20 years at Oklahoma, Coale has posted a 442-217 (.671) record and won 10 Big 12 championships (six regular season, four tournament). A four-time Big 12 Coach of the Year, Coale has led her teams to 17 consecutive NCAA Tournament appearances, the fifth longest current streak in the nation.

The Sooners have earned three Final Four berths under her leadership (2002, 2009, 2010) and have participated in nine Sweet 16s.

In total, Coale has coached four first-team All-Americans, six Big 12 Players of the Year and 14 WNBA Draft selections, including six first-round selections. She also guided USA Basketball to a gold medal at the 2013 World University Games.

Her players have also consistently achieved in the classroom, with 14 of them being named Academic All-Americans and 57 earning 111 Academic All-Big 12 honors under her direction.

Coale was joined in the 2016 class by June Corteau (contributor), Joe Lombard (coach), Jackie Stiles (player), Bill Tipps (contributor, posthumously) and Natalie Williams (player). The 1996 U.S. Olympic Team was also recognized as “Trailblazers of the Game”.

Opened in 1999, the Women’s Basketball Hall of Fame is located in Knoxville, Tenn., and has 151 total honorees.

For more information on Oklahoma women’s basketball, follow the Sooners on Twitter (@OU_WBBall) or like Oklahoma Sooners Women’s Basketball on Facebook.



Sooner Sports Properties, LLC, is the multimedia rights holder for athletics at the University of Oklahoma.
Sooner Sports Properties is a joint venture of Learfield Communications and Tyler Media, LLC.


Sooner Sports Powered by FOX Sports is a multi-platform network that provides distribution of 1,000+ hours of Sooner sports programming annually on a variety of FOX Sports outlets, including FOX Sports Oklahoma, FOX Sports Southwest, and FOX College Sports.